Kia Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm a newbie here, and would appreciate advice on high mileage 2006 Sedonas. I am looking at buying a 2006 Sedona EX with 188,000 kms (I live in Canada, 188,000 kms is approximately 117,000 miles) on it, and would like to know about the reliability of the transmission and engine. The body is excellent, all the electrics work, a/c and heat are good, the test drive felt good, and the asking price is $6000 Cdn. Anyone here have experience or an opinion on high mileage Sedonas? Any particular engine or tranny issues? Any info is appreciated. :)

·
Registered
06 Sedona LX, 06 Sedona EX, 14 Forte EX, 11 Sportage EX, 11 Forte 5-door SX, 15 K900 VIP+
1,143 Posts
I purchased my first 2006 Sedona 2 years ago with 131,000 miles for $9000 US. I purchased another one a year ago with 199,000 miles. Currently they have 203,000 and 240,000 miles on them, respectively. The first one I purchased isn't a good measure of reliability because I greatly abused it delivering newspapers, and have replaced most of the powertrain. On the other van, everything is factory original and it runs fine at 240,000 miles.
-
With only 117,000 miles, I think you will get quite a bit of life out of the van, and that is a pretty good price. If I were presented that deal, I would have a hard time turning it down!!

·
Registered
Kia Cee'd SW, Hyundai i20, Nissan 240SX
496 Posts
I believe Greg is THE resident high mileage Guru on this forum! ;)

From what I understand, mechanically the Sedona is fairly durable, it's more likely you might encounter a few niggly electrical problems with the van.

Things like IPS Module relay failure, (AKA intermittent no crank/no start) which can be fixed at no real cost if you are handy with DIY.

Then there's issues with the sliding door actuator motors - that can be fixed cheaply for under $15 if you do the work yourself.