Kia Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2016 Kia Sorento SX+ 3.3L V6 (red)
366 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have my eye on a 2009 Rio5 EX-Sport, but I'm not loving the fact it doesn't have cruise control. I'm non-mechanically inclined (replacing a headlight is about the max I think I can do)...if I bought an aftermarket cruise control thingy off ebay, would a Kia dealer (or alternate location) install it, do you think?

And if so...would that install as a "stalk", or as part of some kind of steering-wheel based control?

Sorry, I'm new at this stuff, not real experienced with "modding"...lol

·
Registered
06 Rio, 136K miles
77 Posts
I bought my kit from M&R Electronics, Delco , Ford , and Chrysler Radio Wholesaler , M & R Electronics is one of the largest Delco radio distributors in the Country , and installed it myself. Instead of using the "Stalk" that it came with, I ordered a "Part#: 250-1483 RF Cruise Control Switch" that I mounted to my steering wheel so I didn't have the stalk hanging in the way. I'm very happy with my entire setup. You are saying that you aren't mechanically inclined, however, you could give it a try. I found the directions very helpful and I found a Youtube video explaining how to install it on a 2007 Rio.

If you aren't willing to take on the installation, I would talk to a local car stereo shop and ask them how much to install the kit if you buy it yourself. Being handy with wiring and installing, the cruise control should be no issue for a stereo shop.

I've had my cruise control setup installed for over a year and haven't had any issues, I haven't even changed the battery in the RF unit.

Chris

·
Registered
366 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)