Kia Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone, Newbie here. recently purchased the sportage, it has 78k miles. I replaced the plugs, wires and the air filter. 2nd day off the lot... the check engine light came on... Brought it in for timing belt replacement... Mechanic mentioned I had the wrong plugs in , Bosch 4 way platinums, I got from Autozone.. he reccomended the NGK's... and said that was probably why the check engine light came on... This car is great around town driving, but on the highway , it seems to misfire, at different speeds, but always the same speeds, for example, 55, 65, 75... it kinda kicks, also, the steering wheel shakes like crazy, actually the whole car does, the empty passenger seat shakes, you can notice it , big time... anyway I brought it back in , the mechanis said it was a problem with air flow... at ,least he said thats what the codes referred to ... he cleared the codes... and the next day , same thing, check engine light is back on.... Not having much faith in this mechanic.... from reading the posts, I am going to autozone in the morning to try and get the codes .. will be back in touch here.... any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
349 Posts
Bosch +4's will work fine in the DOHC engine. I know several folks who run them without any problems.

Get the trouble codes and post them here. They will be formatted PXXXX, where XXXX will be a series of numbers. Make sure all the codes are readout if there are more than one.

Sportage front ends are very sensitive to proper wheel balance. If a wheel/tire combo is not properly balanced you will get wheel shake. I suggest having the front tires checked and balanced as required to start.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Went to Autozone, they plugged it up, and the codes are 101 and 172, the guy told me that the Mass Air flow sensor needed to be replaced, Does that sound right?