Kia Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
Kia Sportage
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need help! I'm new to 4x4s and recently picked up an r reg KIA sportage 2.0 petrol glx drives great etc well pleased with it but i didn't check 4 wheel drive when i bought it and i put it in to 4 wheel high and low today only went like 50 feet and there's a kind of metal grinding noise coming from under the gearbox area i think sounds awful but goes when back in 2 wheel? any help/advice will be appreciated?

·
Registered
2000 Sportage EX 4x4 A/T, 2008 Harley Davidson Nightrain
184 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

Someone more knowledgable than I should chime in soon. In the meantime some more detail will aid in the troubleshooting:

What year is your sporty?

Auto or Manual transmission?

What kind of terrain did you engage 4wd on? (dirt, gravel, wet pavment, etc.) - Don't know how new to 4x4s you are, but incase you didn't know - 4wd is different from AWD and should not be used on dry pavement.

Have you checked to see if you have enough (or any) oil in your transfer case and front differential?

·
Registered
Kia Sportage
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi mate thanks for the quick reply. My first 4x4 so very new. I haven't checked any of the things you mentioned i just engaged on dry flat ground and drove it about 2 mph forward and back and it made which can only be described as a metal grinding type noise its a manual 1997 year. Where do I look to check what you mentioned?

·
Registered
2000 Sportage EX 4x4 A/T, 2008 Harley Davidson Nightrain
184 Posts
Hi mate thanks for the quick reply. My first 4x4 so very new. I haven't checked any of the things you mentioned i just engaged on dry flat ground and drove it about 2 mph forward and back and it made which can only be described as a metal grinding type noise its a manual 1997 year. Where do I look to check what you mentioned?