Kia Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
FORTE 2011 LX plus, FORTE 2011 Koup
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 2011 Forte, 2.0L with only 24,000km needs a new block and I'm curious as to what could have caused this. Oil changes were performed at least a few thousand kms sooner than recomended, driven by my wife (no drag racing going on here). The dealer (KIA Lallier, Laval, QC) can't figure it out why this occured and has ordered a new block, which of course is on backorder and will be here the end of June!!!

Has anyone else had the same problem? I'm no mechanic but I do know quite a bit about cars and this seems odd to me. Was the block "mishapen" from the factory? Did the bearings give out causing the pistons to "wobble" (dealer says bearings and rings are okay)?

Dealer has been very helpfull so far, but it's hard to believe that a car company like KIA that sells thousands of cars a year does not have a few replacement engines or blocks in stock and I have to wait for one to be placed on a slow boat from Korea!

To see the pics of what I'm talking about:
alexlasca's Library | Photobucket

Any ideas on what caused this? Anyone else had similar problem?

·
Registered
Cerato S Hatch Auto
1,236 Posts
What were the symptoms? How many cylinders were affected? Did the oil appear dirty early on or was the oil usage excessive?

·
Super Moderator
2008 SpectraSX, 2014 Optima LX,2006 Jeep Liberty, Linux Mint Mate
6,923 Posts
First of all...alexlasca welcom to kia-forums..
I have some good news...and some bad news...

There have been NO posts of Forte 2.0L engine failures here on our forums!
The bad is... you are the first I can recall that has had one.

This engine was originally designed by Mazda back in the 1980s and was used by them until 1989...The design was licensed by Hyundai/KIA back in the late 1990s and has gone through at least 4 updates/improvements and has been rock solid as far as reliability when proper maintenance is performed.