Kia Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2014 Kia Sorento--base trim level
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here. About a week ago the ABS (anit lock brake system), ESC (electronic stability control), and Low Tire Pressure Indicator lights came on in my car. After some research, I've found that it is most likely the wheel sensor or the ABS module. Another weird tidbit that happened around the same time is that the radio controls on my steering wheel have been acting strange. For instance, the skip track button will now mute the radio or either switch it from radio to media. This usually corrects itself. My question is, is this in any way related to the indicator lights that are now on? (I saw a youtube video with a Toyota vehicle that said the ABS module was causing the same steering wheel radio button issues, but couldn't find anything related with Kia.) Also, is this something that can be repaired at home with a good tutorial and someone with some basic mechanic skills? My vehicle is no longer under warranty, so saving some money would be great. If so, how would one tell which sensor has malfunctioned? Any other tips or tricks would be greatly appreciated too. Thanks!

·
Registered
2014 Kia Sorento LX 2.4 l AWD
5 Posts
I’ve seen another thread talking about the steering wheel buttons acting up. The solution, it seems is to disconnect the battery for a few minutes. Then make sure the terminals are clean and reconnect the battery. This will essentially force a reboot of the computer that controls the functions. As for the dash lights, I have no answer to that one.

·
Registered
09 kia spectra ex,'11 Dodge Journey AWD,04 Chry. T&C, 08 Pontiac G6 gt
2,497 Posts