Kia Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just purchased a 2013 Optima SX-L. With 125 miles on the car, I hit a pothole and immediately blew the tire. Because the car has no spare, the car had to be towed. It cost me $260.00 for the tire with mount & balance.
Well, last night (with 900 miles on it) I hit another pothole and yep...blew ANOTHER TIRE!!!. The guy at the tire store stated that in his opinion, these are the wrong tires for this type of car. (low profile performance)

I'm just wondering if anyone else with the SX-L has had tires blown from potholes?

My car is 3 weeks old and I have spent almost $600.00 on tires.
For what it's worth...I have been driving for 30 years and have NEVER blown a tire by hitting a pothole.

Anyone else have this problem? Maybe Kia should address this?

·
Super Moderator
1995 Procharged Mustang Cobra, 2021 Sportage EX
4,527 Posts
Welcome to the site!
What would you like Kia to fix?? Fix the potholes? You have 18 inch low profile tires, ie: not much of a side wall to absorb the impact of hitting something. You should have bought the tire and wheel warranty that dealers sell. For $300.00 you could/maybe still buy the warranty and any damage to wheels and tries would be covered for free. Hope you enjoy your new car!

·
Registered
Cerato S Hatch Auto
1,236 Posts
Simply a result of the mania for low-profile tyres. You probably have 45-profile tyres, and note that the tyre dimension includes that part of the tyre below the rim flange. That's why fit anything below 50-profile and it looks like there's hardly any rubber between the rim and the road.

I have 65 and 55-profile tyres on my cars, and they are serviceable, cheap and comfortable. I chose the S model Cerato specifically because it had 195/65-15 tyres. Also a better match for the Cerato's rather firm suspension. Generations of the most popular large cars in Oz rolled along on 205/65-15.