Kia Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2013 Kia Sorento SX
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just picked up my 2013 Sorento this week. This is my first time with a built in navigation system. I had a portable Garmin 1455 before. It seems like there are a large amount of businesses that are not in my nav database. For example, restaurants like Dairy Queen that have been in existance for years at their current location, don't show up in the POI search list. Do I need to update the system? It isn't just a few things that don't show up; it seems to be everything less than 2 years old as well many other places. I don't have much experience with navigation systems - does someone have some good advice for me?

Thanks

·
Registered
2012 EX V6 Luxury Sorento - Dark Cherry
45 Posts
Welcome to Kia navigation, it's loaded with problems. My salesman told me it came with free upgrades, then when I asked for it in writing, they changed their tune and said it's about $200 for an upgrade but I could still get them free on torrent sites. Nice illegal advice from Winnipeg Kia.

·
Registered
Sorento SX 2013
237 Posts
both the Navigation and Stereo system is extremely poor software feature wise

it's cumbersome to enter the addresses

and the Random play feature is worst than regular

it keeps "Randomizing" back to the same set of songs over and over again

and i have over 1000+ mp3 on my USB stick sorted by many folders and many categories, yet it keeps on picking up the same songs over and over again

As for the NAV map upgrades, ask your Sales guy, they need to get you an up to date map, most of the Nav pre-loaded maps are outdated

·
Registered
2011 Titanium Sorento SX - 39,000 miles since 03/2011
106 Posts
I still use my android phone for navigation. So much better traffic data, I was paying for the SiriusXM traffic service, and the GPS logic would not take into account the traffic (yes, I did have all appropriate setting options selected).