Kia Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Optima 2013
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there,

This is my first time posting in the Forum, I was hoping I could get some feedback from my fellow Optima/Kia owners. Occasionally when I honk my horn it results in a power shortage in the car. Specifically the RPMs drop to zero, the car will be trying to accelerate when pressing the gas from a stopped or moving position. If stopped sometimes it stalls when pressing the horn, sometimes it will go but very very slowly. No engine light or any lights illuminate on the dash. The RPMs will stay at zero although you can hear the car revving and it will move slowly as mentioned. When moving it hasn't stalled but the same symptoms, RPMs at zero, low power when accelerating.

Turning off and on the car clears the problem and the car will drive as normal. Kia doesn't seem to know what the issue is and has guessed it could be the junction box. I'm going to try to post a video of when it happened while driving around 80/90 km/hr.

I do have other minor electrical issues/glitches such as I try to roll the window up and instead it goes down. Sometimes the Bluetooth music won't work unless I go to the settings where it says enable Bluetooth and then leave the setting screen. When I turn on the car sometimes the radio/media does not work at all. Again turning off and on the car usually clears up the issues.

Anyone else experiencing this issue or similar issues with their Kia? My car has 109,000 km, so just my luck it is out of warranty and Kia isn't concerned that I may end up in an accident if this happens in an intersection or on the highway.

·
Registered
2011 Forte SX 2.4L (thankfully MPI) A/T 144K miles
1,266 Posts
... Kia doesn't seem to know what the issue is and has guessed it could be the junction box. ...