Kia Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
'12 Rio SLS, '13 XR6 Turbo, '15 XR8 S/C
995 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Quick one here. In the last few days our manual Rio has been getting temperamental about engaging for first gear (and sometimes second).

I might note that i'm a seasoned manual driver, smooth one at that, so it's not driver error.

You'll be at a stand-still, be in first, take off with more than adequate rpm then right at the end of the engagement, the clutch is completely off the floor, it'll pause for half a second then jerk noticeably and accelerate. This can happen sometimes in second too. The thing is, if you take off really slowly or aggressively, it is 100% fine, this issue has just developed at 'normal' take off speeds.

When this occurs, third and even fourth gear are VERY sensitive to throttle input as if you're in first at 5KM/h, clutch up. This first occurred on a hot day a few days back and now does it in the cold too. I've suspected clutch problems since day 1 but it's suddenly got worse. Smells like burning clutch-plate every few days too which isn't fun.

My question is, to those of you who've had clutch master cylinder problems in the past on the Rio, what were the symptoms? My master cylinder is noisy half the time like a 'clacking' noise on disengaging the clutch.

My theory is if there's a sticky valve in the master cylinder then the clutch may not be completely disengaging with the pedal release, then the revs are simply forcing the plate to grab the fly at the last second and causing a jolt at the end of the process.

It's worse with the aircon on, when it obviously requires more revs to take off under compressor load.

Anyone experience the master cylinder issue? or another clutch issue? Was the master cylinder a recall? I forget.

cheers.

·
Registered
2012 Rio 5 & 2009 Rav4 Sport V6
104 Posts