Kia Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
My Wife said her 02 Sedona at 161k mile is enough. She wants a Sorento.

We found a used 2011 one that has it all, including AWD. I am not an expert on AWD, so I am concerned that this would be an extra option that could be a nightmare in maintenance and loss of mpg performance.

Any comments would greatly be appreciated.

Thanks
kdc

·
Registered
2011 Kia Sorento EX V6 AWD & 2010 Hyundai Sonata SE
532 Posts
In all honesty, the AWD system is so smooth you don't even know it's there. Keep in mind, the system is in FWD mode 100% of the time...that is until it senses slippage. It will kick in so smoothly that you will hardly feel it.

You don't need to be worried about the AWD system failing. Just keep up with the fluid changes and your tires pressures/rotations and the system should last the life of the vehicle. MPG isn't impacted too bad. Since the system isn't always activated, the MPG impact isnt terrible. Yes, there is more drag with the system regardless, i wouldn't not buy the Sorento just because of the AWD. It's a nice thing to have just incase you need it.

My V6 AWD blew my mind this winter. With a good set of winter tires it literally would plow through anything. I was skeptical because I was coming from a older Pathfinder with a true 4WD sytem (Hi, Lo etc) but I can honestly say this system is better than the pathfinders.

I say go for it. Is the 2011 you're looking at the 4cyl or V6? That's what you should worry about.

·
Registered
2011 Sorento LX 4cyl AWD 2012 Sorento EX V6
148 Posts
Hello,

We found a used 2011 one that has it all, including AWD. I am not an expert on AWD, so I am concerned that this would be an extra option that could be a nightmare in maintenance and loss of mpg performance.

Thanks
kdc
I've had 3 Sorentos and like them but noticed you mention MPG. Sorento is not exactly great on fuel, depending on the circumstances.