Kia Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
2011 Kia Sedona LX
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just changed my oil and the oil looked disgusting after the 3750 mile change interval recommended by Kia. It looked really dirty, much dirtier than the previous two changes. I also noticed that the coolant looked low. Are the 3.5L Lambda II engines bad on head gaskets? I only have 45,000 miles and will be beyond peeved if it needs a head gasket replacement this early in its lifespan.

·
Super Moderator
1995 Procharged Mustang Cobra, 2021 Sportage EX
4,504 Posts
The oil look bad becouse you were due for a oil change. I've been working for Kia for over 3 years now, I've never seen a 3.5 with a blown h/gasket.

·
Super Moderator
4,504 Posts
I would stay were you are, just don't go over 3750. What kind of oil, and filter are you using?

·
Registered
2011 Kia Sedona LX
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Previous two changes were Castrol GTX 5w-20 with a Purolator filter. This time I am using a Kia Genuine filter with Castrol GTX 5w-20.

·
Super Moderator
4,504 Posts
Good you have upgraded your filter, I'll bet next time your oil looks better!

·
Registered
2011 Kia Sedona LX
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I hope so...I plan on keeping this van until it dies. Surprisingly, the Kia filters cost less than the aftermarket ones...I am going to be using the OEM ones from now on.

·
Registered
Cerato S Hatch Auto
1,236 Posts
I've found that Castrol GTX seems to get "dirty" quicker than some other oils. I use Castrol Synthetic 5W-30 and it stays clean-looking for a long time. I've heard say that "dirty" doesn't necessarily mean "bad". Just take a look at your average mechanic's hands. :rolleyes:

·
Registered
10 Optima LX, 07 Rondo EX, 89 Chevy C1500
1,410 Posts