Kia Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2008 Kia Sorento with 3.3L V6 Automatic RWD
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Let me start by saying, I am a decent mechanic. I have never taken on a job that I have not been able to finish/fix. However, this might be the first. My 2008 Kia (3.3L V6) w/ 150,000 miles runs great, starts up just fine, idle's well, no smoke, you name it, it is good except for the CEL.

The CEL came on and has stayed on for the past 10,000 miles. I scanned it and I get the codes: P0016, P0018, P0021. I replaced both Camshaft position sensors and VVTs. While I was at it, I replaced the manifold gasket, valve cover gaskets, and the throttle body gasket. I have done two new oil changes. There was no sludge in the engine when I took off the valve covers. Also cleaned the connectors. I tested them with a multimeter and the connectors were good.

The other problem is when I start the Sorento, I don't hear any noise and watch the RPMs. The engine idles at 1500 then goes down to around 800 rpms as the vehicle warms up. At that point or when I shift into gear, the low pressure oil lamp comes on. I check the oil level religiously. No problems. I have added Lucas Oil Stabilizer. No fix.

Please understand that I have put an additional 10,000 miles on this car since first getting these codes. There has never been any stalling, rough shifting, nor any problems with driving it. I just cannot seem to get rid of this CEL. I have deleted the codes and they always come back. Even removed the battery for a day. I need to fix this in order to get it inspected where I live. The oil lamp floors me. I have no idea. When driving it only comes on when I stop and let the engine idle.

Please, any help will be appreciated.

Vehicle Info

Kia Sorento
Mileage: 150,000 miles
Year: 2008
Engine: 3.3L V6
Accidents: None
Codes Present: P0016, P0018, P0021 and low engine oil pressure light