Kia Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm about to tackle the rear brakes on our 2007 Rondo and had a few questions about them. I've had a little experience doing the front brakes on my Chev and my Honda without any problems, but this is my first time on the Kia and my first time doing rear brakes in general.

As I understand from reading the forum, they're a combination disc/drum on the back and the drum is the emergency brake. When removing the caliper to change the rotors do I need to do anything different to accommodate the e-brake or is that a different system altogether?

When doing brakes in the past I used a large 'C' clamp to press in the caliper cylinder after installing the new pads, will that work with the Rondo or is it the type that needs to be twisted as it's pressed back?

Lastly, when taking off the winter tires earlier this year, one of the lugs was cross threaded and wound up shearing off the stud instead of threading off. I intended to replace the stud while I was doing the brake work, is that a tough job and how would I go about doing it?

Thanks guys, any help is MUCH appreciated!

·
Registered
2010 Subaru Impreza 2.5i Premium 5-door, *old* 2009 Kia Rondo LX 4cyl 2.4L
492 Posts
Have you ever changed rear drum brakes? If you have, the rear is just a regular disc, but the rotor hat is the drum for the e-brake, same type of hardware and installation with springs and all that jazz.