Kia Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We have to make ONE more payment and its done FINALLY !!!! But the ac comes on and blows cold but it just doesnt seem to come on enough or long enough. Seems to not be cycling properly. Ive already put a transmission in it so I want to try to make it last a little longer. Does it sound like a clutch ? Pressure switch ? I used to work at Ford as a service tech so I know a lil bit about cars but Im NOT a mechanic :) AC was serviced a while back and it was still full when I checked it the other day.

thanks !!

Dave

·
Super Moderator
2008 SpectraSX, 2014 Optima LX,2006 Jeep Liberty, Linux Mint Mate
6,922 Posts
The clutch should stay on for most of the time... If the refrigerant levels are low the clutch will cycle on and off... The blower motor on the 06 doesn't put out a lot of air (I have an 06) compared to an 07 (my wife's Spectra)... I'd check the levels of the freon as you may have a leak...
On another thought....You have a very good car "if" you replace the timing belt EVERY 5yrs or 60k miles...The engine is an "interference" type and will be badly damaged "if" the belt slips some teeth or breaks completely... The TB replacement is not hard and not terribly expensive (if you do it yourself).
Rockauto.com has the TB at a good price....Get ONLY a GATES labeled brand and not their "generic" ones.... The generic has a 90 day warranty and DOES NOT meet OEM specs for material and manufactoring processes...
I mention the belt often to Spec owners as it SADLY gets ignored and these engines can go 300k miles "if" properly maintained.
Dave

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I did replace that at about 100k. Its got about 140 on it now. I put it on the machine at work about 1.5 yrs ago and recharged the compressor. I hooked up one of those DIY kits the other day and it was in the green. So I didnt add any.

·
Super Moderator
6,922 Posts