Kia Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
2006 Kia Sorento
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, hello every one!! I'm new to the Kia forums, and was looking for some help. I mainly work on GM and Ford vehicles, and till now I've never even touched an Asian/Korean import like Kia lol.

So I was searching around cl and others apps alike, and I ran across this 05 Kia Sportage for $600 with 155k on her. The guy said, "Mechanic told me it was a timing belt" so went to look at it since I thought it was a good deal. It sort of checked out, so now I own a Kia lol. The car turns over, sounds like it tries to fire every now and then, but nothing.

I started with the timing belt, and it turns out there's not a thing wrong with it. So I decided to do a compression check, and low an behold, it has low compression. Around 30-40psi on all cylinders. then I checked the timing marks thinking it might have jumped timing, causing the valves to open at the wrong time letting the compression escape. no such luck. The timing was perfect.
I had this lingering thought that the timing belt had previously broke sending the pistons into the valves. I took off the timing belt and rotated the crank by hand to see if it would make contact with the valves. And it didn't, except for one spot that was very minor. So I assumed I was right, I pulled the head off. After pulling the head and further inspection, there isn't a thing wrong with the valves, or the piston heads or the cylinder walls. There isn't a bit of play in the pistons, the cylinder walls are so smooth, with not a bit of scoring or anything. The valve all open and close as they should, and seat fine. I can't understand where the compression is going. Btw there wasn't a bit of coolant in head, radiator hoses, heater hoses or block from what I can tell. I suspect the water pump, since it has about an 8th of an inch of play in the shaft. The car has no codes stored.

Anything you can tell me would help.
Thank you!
-Wesley

·