Kia Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So my caliper on the rear passenger side has locked up. Completely. Couldn't even budge the wheel going down the road when it did. Got it disconnected and won't compress back down with a C clamp.

Will need to replace it as well as the pads. Any special tips or anything I need to know when I go buy the parts or for when I am putting them on? Looking at $56 I believe for the caliper and $20 for the pads.

I have never done this before but it doesn't look like too much of a difficult job.

Will post links to the parts in a few and hopefully someone can tell me if they will work.

Thanks.

·
Super Moderator
2008 SpectraSX, 2014 Optima LX,2006 Jeep Liberty, Linux Mint Mate
6,923 Posts
Some brake pistons require a piston tool like ...
Lisle - Disc Brake Piston Tool Part # 28600 $13
to drive in the piston (like a bolt).
A "C"clamp won't do it... You use it with a 3/8" ratchet and extensions to drive it in.
I replaced the pads on my wife's 07 Spectra but I really do not remember "if" I needed the tool...I think I did though.
Is the e-brake drum and shoe OK?
I bought a vacuum brake bleeder at Harbor Frieght for around $30~40 that is driven by an air compressor that made brake fluid bleeding extremely easy.
I'll be into another Spectra this Friday and looking at the rear brakes after the timing belt, AC belt, and plugs are replaced so then I can say for sure..
Dave

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
That piston tool is now added to my list. Just watched a video on YouTube on it.

I haven't got in there real good to see if everything else is OK. I just made an assumption that the caliper is bad without actually putting it back into position. I guess I will buy all I need and keep my fingers crossed I can return the caliper when hopefully I don't need it.

·
Super Moderator
6,923 Posts
Brandon...
We make this a better forum helping each other.