Kia Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2003 KIA Sedona
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I have been told that the fuel filter is located in the gas tank and can be accessed by a panel located behind the front seat. Is this correct? Also, can I just replace my fuel filter or is it part of the fuel pump. Do I need to replace them both. I am getting mixed stories where this is concerned.

Can anyone clarify this for me?

·
Registered
2003 KIA Sedona
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Found a post on here that says I can just replace the filter without replacing the pump. Going to have a look today. Since I have never done this before. How do I tell if it is clogged or dirty. Will the gunk be visible? Does anyone have a picuture?

·
Registered
04 sedonna,07 oddsey,77 dodge p/u,kubota tractor------
97 Posts
You can replace the filter without the pump. Be careful to put the o rings from the old one to the new one or it will not work. The old filter will probably be darker but unless it's way past time to change there shouldn't be any crud buildup. Look up your filter on Auto Zone and there should be a link to instructions and maybe pictures on how to install. The access panel is between the 2nd row of seats.

·
Registered
KIA Sedona 2005 EX 3.5L Automatic
95 Posts
Another member gave me the instructions how to replace the fuel filter in another thread. So, courtesy by "PeterBlue", here they are:

Releasing Fuel System Pressure

! WARNING THE FUEL SYSTEM REMAINS UNDER PRESSURE WHEN THE ENGINE IS NOT RUNNING. RELEASE FUEL SYSTEM PRESSURE BEFORE DISCONNECTING ANY FUEL LINE TO REDUCE THE CHANCE OF PERSONAL INJURY OR FIRE DAMAGE TO VEHICLE COMPONENTS.

1. Start engine.
2. Disconnect fuel pump connector located under center floor carpet.
3. Let engine stall, then turn IG OFF.
4. Reconnect fuel pump connector.

Fuel Filter Removal

1. Release fuel system pressure. Refer to "Releasing fuel system pressure".
2. Disconnect the negative battery terminal.