Kia Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here :) Looks like a great set of forums. I bought by '02 Rio new a little over 3 years ago, and it has 38,000 on it. It's been a great car for me, but unfortunately after having a flat tire fixed this morning, the shop informed me that my front pads were at about 20% and needed to be replaced soon.

Because I'd rather not spend over $140 on having this done for me, I've been reading online about brake pad replacement, and found these forums through those searched. I'm encouraged because this seems easier than or equal to some of the other work that I've done before (replacing an alternator, compressor, muffler, catalytic converter).

On these forums, I found a post by Murphwiz that sounded quite informative. Here's the relevant part:

To replace pads:
Undo 1 17mm bolt at bottom of caliper.
Swing caliper up, then slide inwards to remove.
Remove old pads
Clean area pads run on of brake dust and corrosion.
Slacken brake bleed nipple and push caliper pistons back, tighten nipple.
Carefully apply thin smear of coperease to the lugs of the new pads.
Fit pads.
Clean slider part of caliper, apply a good coat of copper ease, slide caliper back into carrier, lower to fit over pads.
Clean slider bolt removed earlier and again apply a cost of copper ease.
refit bolt.
This was for an '04 Sedona, and I'm curious as to whether or not there will be any differences? Anyone replaced their brake pads on an 02 Rio? Any advice, tips, or even step by step instructions are greatly welcomed. I'm hoping to do it tomorrow morning, before the Texas heat gets to me.

Thanks in advance!
-Jon

·
Registered
97 Posts