Kia Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have a 2006 amanti which I put a new timing belt on the first time I set it out of time, not knowing that it should be set on the tops of the teeth not the valleys. it did start and ran,but would not go over 2300 rpms. when I turned it off it backfired a small amount. on the advice of the dealership mechanic i reset the marks and looked closer at the picture of the timing settings. from a book i got online and found that i should be setting on the top of the teeth. it blew out plastic bags when i truned it over by hand. after several attempts at resetting the timing on the final attemp all the marks were set on the marks when the belt slipped because i forgot to set the tension on the belt and it slipped on the wheels and now i don't where anything is except the cam. my question is how do i rest the valves in sync with the cam and the cylinders. and get the engine back to where it can be set for timing again. some body please help
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
1 Posts
reset valve cams

on the 2006 that 1haoward2 was talking aabout the major problem is how do we rest the valve cams properly insure the timing can be reset. someone please help us as this is my only wa to and from work and it is realy trying to use histruck not only expensive please help asap
 

·
Registered
2004 Optima 2.4 EX, 2005 Yamaha R1 (street) 2001 GSXR 1000 (track)
Joined
·
1,018 Posts
Check out the website listed in my signature line (also, please fill in your profile info), you'll find the service procedure on there.
 

·
Super Moderator
99 Kia Elan 1.8L, 17 Ford Edge Sport 2.7L V6, 15 Mustang 3.7L V6, 08 Harley Nightrain
Joined
·
10,793 Posts
on the 2006 that 1haoward2 was talking aabout the major problem is how do we rest the valve cams properly insure the timing can be reset. someone please help us as this is my only wa to and from work and it is realy trying to use histruck not only expensive please help asap
Your IP address is the same as '1howard2' - please use only one user ID.
 
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
Top