Kia Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Spectra LX
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have a 2005 spectra lx without the foglight option. I was wondering a few things about making a complete (or close as possible) oem fog light install to my car. There were a few things I was curious about as I'm by no means a mechanic or electrician, but have friends who are to help and want this to be a learning experience for me.

1- I'm assuming the "faux lights" in the portholes where the real lights are supposed to be are just inserts that can be easily removed?

2- How big of a job am I looking at? I also want to swap out my column switch for the one with the fog option on it. Or if it turns out to be too much of a hassle, where can i get a decent looking switch that will look nice in the car?

3- If I install the new column switch, am i going to need to replace the wiring harness that mounts into it altogether for one that supports fog lights in case mine doesn't.

4- Assuming everything goes well and I get the column switch installed, is my current gauge cluster already equipped with the necessary equipment so when I switch on the fogs, the fog dash light will illuminate?

5- Is there anything else I should know about?

Any help is appreciated :)

·
Registered
SPECTRA (TRADED),CADILLAC (TRADED), ACURA MDX, SUZUKI KIZASHI, FORD FOCUS
21 Posts
Don't kill yourself. All you need are the fog lights, a switch and the wiring.
1. put in the new foglights (after removing the covers)
2. find the spot where you want the switch on the dash
3. attach one wire to a good ground from the foglight plug
and
4. attach the other end to the fuse box ( a circuit like the headlights)
5. attach another wire from the fuse box circuit to the switch and the other from the switch to another good ground.
That should do it. In all reality it should only take a couple of hours.

·
Registered
2005 Spectra LX
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3