Kia Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok,to make a long story as short as i can... doing a favor for friend....yeah thats how it always starts....

Vehicle came in with oil leak,160k miles. Leaking from valve covers....not knowing what i was in for,agreed to do it for 100 to help them out... FML.
After taking several pictures and videos since this is unfamiliar ground for me although i am a tech by trade. I upsold plugs and wires while i was in there since it wasnt much more work...reassembled it all, now #5 has a miss.. p0305.. pretty good vibration at idle,but smooths out off idle....
OK to shorten it up in no order whatsoever. These are the things i have done that failed to fix this #%#%@

Swapped wires
swapped plugs
swapped coil packs
new injector
new inj harness
compression test 4 times. within 20psi of all other cylinders.
new surge tank gasket
new TB gasket
cleaned MAF
cleaned TB
Replaced Several vacuum hoses.
Sealed all around 2 plenum halves and IVC or ICV whatever its called. Both ends to ensure no vacuum leak. Can spray two cans of brake clean everywhere on intake and doesnt change anything.
Disabled the butterflys.
rechecked to see confirm all butterflys and screws are there. they are.
Rechecked and confirmed spark at #5
Rechecked and confirmed fuel dumping in #5. likewise with adjacent cylinders.
Rechecked GAP on plug,swapped again.
The **** am i missing?
Im now two weeks into this devil car AND much more $$ than ill get.... IDFK what to do next?
Have noticed if you romp on throttle from idle real quick it does a little spark knock(or sounds like one) then goes away.. Not everytime,but worse the hotter it gets...

Im 100% sure i didnt drop anything in intake,and 100% sure compression is good.

·
Registered
2004 Sorento
33 Posts