Can an ECM be rebuilt or do I have to replace it?? - Kia Forum

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-12-2010, 04:39 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Can an ECM be rebuilt or do I have to replace it??

Hi all... I have a 2005 Sportage that has 92,000 miles on it. The AC is blowing hot air and I took it to the dealership and they ran a test on it and said I need to have the ECM replaced. ECM warranty was only good for 8 years or 80,000 miles ( thats just my luck) the price for a new one with labor is around $1,300. Called Auto Zone and a few other car part places and I can buy one through them..but they can't tell me the price ( Temp out of stock). So I called a mechanic in town and he said it could be rebuilt for around $500.00. I have had a few people tell me that this cannot be done, that I have to buy a new one. Any ideas?? Just trying to figure out whether to tough it out until I come up with $1,300 or try the rebuild. Thanks!!

bam531 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-12-2010, 04:54 PM
Newbie
 
Jonny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 15
Gallery: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Electronic Control Module, I don't know of anyone that can rebuild a KIA ECM. It is all circuit board. Find a used one at a salvage or on Ebay. Some ECM's on other makes of cars can be rebuilt because of the way they are made. To pay an electronics person to find what failed and replace it would cost you the price of a new one if the person could even find the problem.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jonny is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-12-2010, 05:59 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonny View Post
Electronic Control Module, I don't know of anyone that can rebuild a KIA ECM. It is all circuit board. Find a used one at a salvage or on Ebay. Some ECM's on other makes of cars can be rebuilt because of the way they are made. To pay an electronics person to find what failed and replace it would cost you the price of a new one if the person could even find the problem.
Thanks for the info. Did question about a used one..but was told could not go that route because it has to be keyed to the specific car. Everywhere I called tells me something different!!
bam531 is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-12-2010, 06:05 PM
Super Moderator
 
ron1004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 8,465
Drives: 1999 Kia / 기아 Elan, 2017 Ford Edge Sport, 2015 Ford Mustang, 2008 Harley Nightrain
Gallery: 13
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 711 Post(s)
Garage

Welcome to the forum.

I would also look to a wreckers yard for an ECM from the same model as yours.

If the only thing not working is the AC, then suggest that you have a AC specialist company take a look, and they might even be able to get it working without the involvement of the ECM.

Quality and not quantity counts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Sig image is 500X100 at 11.7 kb
ron1004 is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-15-2010, 09:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 15
Drives: 07 Caliber, 88 Grand Am, 01 Kia Rio
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi bam531. If you want to replace the ECM with a new one, www.az Express parts has
them from $565-$780 depending on your engine. Search Electrical then powertrain control
and the ECM will come up. I've been looking because my 01 Rio may need one.

Good luck

Fred
Fred W is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-16-2010, 03:28 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred W View Post
Hi bam531. If you want to replace the ECM with a new one, www.az Express parts has
them from $565-$780 depending on your engine. Search Electrical then powertrain control
and the ECM will come up. I've been looking because my 01 Rio may need one.

Good luck

Fred
Thank you so much!! I will check into that..be alot better then the $1300 the dealership wants!!
bam531 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-16-2010, 03:36 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Ok that website is not right. Clicked on the part that was highlighted on your post..and it comes up as something different. Could you send me the correct one please?
bam531 is offline  
 

  Kia Forum > KIA Models > Kia Sportage Forum



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



  Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace timing belt, tensioners, and water pump? jackhensy 2G (2006 - 2011) Rio & Rio5 5 05-13-2016 12:18 PM
How replace Kia Sephia 2000's Evaporator jojomihijo 2G (1998 - 2001) Sephia 0 09-11-2015 11:36 PM
Need to replace EVAP filter at 30k miles? Mpfender 2011 - 2013 (XM) Sorento Forum 3 05-29-2015 07:02 PM
replace just timing belt and heads, or whole engine? stormcloud96 2G (1998 - 2001) Sephia 4 07-22-2009 09:50 PM
replace the two direct spark plugs? drift_king 2G (1998 - 2001) Sephia 1 03-14-2007 06:58 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On