hid upgrade 2016 soul+ - Page 2 - Kia Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-09-2016, 09:49 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 10
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
DD thought the adapters would work but they did not.. I looked at the link you provided, this would not work for my problem. It looks like until someone makes and adapter that will allow you to upgrade your low beams to HIDs I will be stuck with halogens

jrma2006 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-10-2016, 12:26 AM
Veteran
 
kobi411's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB Canada
Posts: 1,007
Drives: 2013 Forte Koup SX; 2012 Kia Sorento SX; 2012 Kawasaki Z1000
Gallery: 10
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Garage

show me a pic where halogen bulb is on to that socket facing forward, and when its locked in palce inside the projector..
i think some mod. on bulb retaining clips would help.. i could find a way if it were on my hand


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" border="0" />
kobi411 is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-10-2016, 09:45 AM
PLP
Super Moderator
 
PLP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Haslett, MI, USA, Earth
Posts: 6,803
Drives: 2016 FIAT 500X Trekking Plus AWD; 2016 Kia Forte5 SX 1.6T A/T
Gallery: 3
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Garage

Quote:
Originally Posted by kobi411 View Post
i could find a way if it were on my hand
yeah... easy to say


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
USA - paid, repair manual

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Canadian owner manuals (still free)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Europe - paid, repair manual

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Do you talk/text and drive? Watch it. Very interesting test:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
PLP is offline  
 
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-10-2016, 03:55 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 10
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
The bottom right picture is the factory bulb holder.. The H7 bulb plugs into the two slots on the holder. The other picture is outside the light housing looking in. The factory holder is inserted In that hole with the tabs on the outside of the ring lined up with the holes in the housing then twist to lock in place. The problem is you can't do that with the hid or LED bulbs because none of them can be locked into place since nothing fits that connection..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1455140976515.jpg
Views:	161
Size:	108.4 KB
ID:	56041   Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1455141047154.jpg
Views:	140
Size:	119.1 KB
ID:	56049  
jrma2006 is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-10-2016, 06:41 PM
PLP
Super Moderator
 
PLP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Haslett, MI, USA, Earth
Posts: 6,803
Drives: 2016 FIAT 500X Trekking Plus AWD; 2016 Kia Forte5 SX 1.6T A/T
Gallery: 3
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Garage

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrma2006 View Post
The H7 bulb plugs into the two slots on the holder.
Now I see it.

Correct me where I'm wrong. You plug the halogen H7 into the electrical socket first. Then you push the whole assembly into the headlight in such way that the two tabs (one over under your thumb) you can see in the first picture will slide into the "wider" parts of the socket in headlight. Once inside you twist it and it locks.

It is not the typical spring lock like most of the headlights have. I guess KIA makes it harder to fit HID...

It is hard to see in the 2nd picture that the socket is actually like a tower with two cuts where the tabs will fit in.


So, if this is true, and the adapter from DD does not work, I could try to find a replacement electrical socket. With this in hand, drill it inside and use it as a locking one for HID. I would avoid destruction of the original one, though.

Now, the problem I see here is correct position of the HID lamp. Your headlamp does not have any groves locking the light bulb, it happens by twisting the light bulb with the socket and locking the whole assembly in place. This cannot be done with HID as it will be "loose". Unless, the halogen locks in place by stopping on the small tab you find in H7.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
USA - paid, repair manual

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Canadian owner manuals (still free)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Europe - paid, repair manual

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Do you talk/text and drive? Watch it. Very interesting test:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
PLP is offline  
post #16 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-11-2016, 10:41 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 10
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
That is correct.. It is simply plug in and twist to lock.. Problem is nothing out there at this time that will lock the upgraded bulb into place. Very frustrating as to the reasoning for doing this. As I said before I was able to upgrade the highs and fogs with nice LEDs with no problem. All 3 sets up have a different lock in place system the lows, there seems to be no solution for at this time
jrma2006 is offline  
post #17 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-03-2017, 06:52 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrma2006 View Post
That is correct.. It is simply plug in and twist to lock.. Problem is nothing out there at this time that will lock the upgraded bulb into place. Very frustrating as to the reasoning for doing this. As I said before I was able to upgrade the highs and fogs with nice LEDs with no problem. All 3 sets up have a different lock in place system the lows, there seems to be no solution for at this time


What brand LED did you go with . Thinking of upgrading myself


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
GeekGamer is offline  
Reply


Top

  Kia Forum > KIA Models > Kia Soul Forum



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



  Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Purchased 2016 Soul CPO - What to Expect? texanjim Kia Soul Forum 4 03-02-2018 11:04 PM
2016 Kia Soul Plus- Bought in Cincinnati,OHIO USA Hamstermobile Kia Soul Forum 8 06-08-2017 09:34 PM
2016 Kia Soul vs 2017 Kia Soul bountybuddy Kia Soul Forum 2 12-26-2016 03:15 AM
Buying a new 2016 Soul scrollsawman Kia Soul Forum 0 12-24-2016 02:11 PM
2016 Kia Soul Pulsing Back and Forth TerryAnn Kia Soul Forum 5 10-10-2016 02:44 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On