2001 Kia Optima (Automatic) Transmission Problem...Ideas? - Kia Forum

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-20-2007, 12:39 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Question 2001 Kia Optima (Automatic) Transmission Problem...Ideas?

I purchased a preowned 2001 Kia Optima last week. Of course, the next day, the (automatic) transmission starts acting up. Has anyone else had this problem or have any idea what's going on? I'd appreciate any help/suggestions!

Here's what its doing:
Everything seems fine the first 10-15 minutes of driving. Then, there's a slight jerk, it pops out of 4th gear and into 3rd. If switched over to the manual shifter at this time, it will go into 2nd, but not back to 4th or even down to 1st. It stays this way until I stop the car and restart it. Then the same thing happens again.
I should also mention that there are times that this doesn't happen. I drive along like nothing's wrong. It's kinda hit and miss.

Is this a sensor issue? Or something bigger? Again, any ideas will be appreciated!

Thanks,
Lisa M.

angusdawg1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-01-2007, 03:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

yup

it is a sensor issue... I had the same problem with my 2001 SONATA. The trans was acting up so i got rid of it. listen to me... IT WILL ONLY GET WORSE.
NYRANG is offline  
post #3 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-17-2007, 11:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 37
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

transmission problems

Have the fluid professionally changed. And make sure you use synthetic tranny fluid or the KIA OEM fluid.

A shop can actually suck out all the fluid that remains in the torque converter.

Just pulling the drain plug will only cause some of the fluid to drain.

This will cost you about $135
ekubec is offline  
 
post #4 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-19-2007, 04:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 18
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

there is no check engine light cause i know optimas are known for input/output sensor going bad
baller06 is offline  
post #5 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-25-2007, 12:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Yep, my input sensor went first at about 61K miles, then the output went less than a year later. Both replaced and both fixed the same exact symptoms. Do it yourself, these sensors are right on top and easy to replace, don't pay the 2.5 hours the mech will charge when its a 15 minute job. I paid about $120 for each sensor from a KIA dealer.
sawzall is offline  
post #6 of 37 (permalink) Old 05-11-2007, 01:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Having the same problem and planning to have the tranny fluid flushed and the sensors replaced.

Do I replace both the input and output sensors? (as i've seen posted in outher threads)

If so, where are they located for an 01 Optima? I have someone that can do it, but needs to know where they are.

Also, I went to Kiaparts.com and noticed that they have "Vehicle Speed Sensors, automatic trans" for $60.15. Is this the part i'm looking for?
jalexa12 is offline  
post #7 of 37 (permalink) Old 05-15-2007, 04:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 18
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

You need input and output speed sensor or sometimes called pulse generators not vehicle speed sensor that is for your spedo. they are located on top of the tranny good luck
baller06 is offline  
post #8 of 37 (permalink) Old 05-15-2007, 08:26 PM
Veteran
 
ahfrederick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: El Paso, Texas
Posts: 1,980
Drives: 2004 Kia Optima
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Send a message via AIM to ahfrederick Send a message via Yahoo to ahfrederick
Don't dish out any more money that you have already. Take the car back to where you bought it and tell THEM to deal with it. OR BUY IT BACK!
ahfrederick is offline  
post #9 of 37 (permalink) Old 05-16-2007, 02:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Baller06 - where do i get the parts from?

ahfrederick - My vehicle is an 01. It's a little to late for that.
jalexa12 is offline  
post #10 of 37 (permalink) Old 05-18-2007, 02:13 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am also having a similar problem. Does anyone know where I can find a diagram to replace the sensors and where I can purchase the sensors, preferably NOT from Kia directly. Thanks in advance for the help!
atomicwaist is offline  
 


Top

  Kia Forum > KIA Models > Kia Magentis & Optima Forum



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List




  Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Optima 2008 LX I4 OS - where is transmission oil filter? Ameisen 3G (2006.5+) Magentis & Optima 1 07-31-2017 06:46 PM
cold start problem 2001 sportage reginald 1G (1993 - 2002) Sportage 1 07-10-2009 10:06 PM
2001 optima refueling problem firsttimefixit New Member Area/Introduction 0 02-14-2009 09:24 AM
European Carnival diesel and automatic transmission svindler Kia Carnival & Sedona 2006+ 2 10-29-2006 03:38 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On