No A/C - Kia Forum

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-19-2014, 09:50 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
No A/C

I have a 2005 Sedona 3.5L v6. The air conditioning doesn't work. I have check all the fuses under the hood and inside the car. All looks good. A/C relay clicks when the AC button is press and the green light comes on. Test the Thermistor that is located behind the glove box. I have 4.96vlots on the connector. Test the thermistor and reads 2807ohms. When you disconnect the thermistor the AC green button light goes out. I can't get the wire on the compressor. Is there a way to test for 12v at the compressor without too much trouble? Also can you jumper the connector for the thermistor to fake it out so the a/c can come on?or is it even getting the right voltage?
I need help, this car is hot without air conditioning.

Mom Toy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-20-2014, 07:20 AM
PLP
Super Moderator
 
PLP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Haslett, MI, USA, Earth
Posts: 6,803
Drives: 2016 FIAT 500X Trekking Plus AWD; 2016 Kia Forte5 SX 1.6T A/T
Gallery: 3
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Garage

since it clicks I assume charge is OK (pressure readbacks are within normal range and compressor is ready to start).

Two things are needed (at least two) for compressor to run: belt propelling it and working clutch.
The former one is easy to diagnose. The second - you might need to try manually move the pulley and have the A/C engaged while you are touching (with the belt removed). If there is no movement inside, it might be it.

However, IF for whatever reason, the power cable is down - same results. Hence, check if you get 12V on the relay (terminal 30) and then if the relay really works. It may click, but connector is burnt. Therefore, instead of relaying on the relay, use a piece of 14 AWG wire to jump the terminals 30 and 87 of the relay (well, fuse box).

If this starts the compressor - you got your answer. If not - follow as described above.
First, though, measure voltage coming to the compressor.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
USA - paid, repair manual

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Canadian owner manuals (still free)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Europe - paid, repair manual

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Do you talk/text and drive? Watch it. Very interesting test:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
PLP is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-09-2014, 07:50 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Ok this is what I have tested so far and I think I have found the problem. I tested connection 87 to ground without the key on. At one point it read 1.7ohms and now as of today it doesn't read anything. I can spin the compressor by hand. I tried jumping connections 30 & 87 at the fuse panel. The compressor ever kick on or click like it wanted to. The AC button in the car is green. So it is wanting to give it the go ahead to come on but won't. So at this time I think it is the coil in the clutch is bad. Seems to be a common problem with these Kia compressors. Now the question is do I just order the coil for $46 or by a total Reman compressor for $129. I am hopping I can just get by with the coil and do it with the compressor on the car. That way I can save the freon already in the system and don't have to pump it down and reload it. What do you all think compressor or coil. I am cheap, disable Marine on a tough budget.
Mom Toy is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-09-2014, 09:17 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
youtube

Quote:
Originally Posted by PLP View Post
since it clicks I assume charge is OK (pressure readbacks are within normal range and compressor is ready to start).

Two things are needed (at least two) for compressor to run: belt propelling it and working clutch.
The former one is easy to diagnose. The second - you might need to try manually move the pulley and have the A/C engaged while you are touching (with the belt removed). If there is no movement inside, it might be it.

However, IF for whatever reason, the power cable is down - same results. Hence, check if you get 12V on the relay (terminal 30) and then if the relay really works. It may click, but connector is burnt. Therefore, instead of relaying on the relay, use a piece of 14 AWG wire to jump the terminals 30 and 87 of the relay (well, fuse box).

If this starts the compressor - you got your answer. If not - follow as described above.
First, though, measure voltage coming to the compressor.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mom Toy View Post
Ok this is what I have tested so far and I think I have found the problem. I tested connection 87 to ground without the key on. At one point it read 1.7ohms and now as of today it doesn't read anything. I can spin the compressor by hand. I tried jumping connections 30 & 87 at the fuse panel. The compressor ever kick on or click like it wanted to. The AC button in the car is green. So it is wanting to give it the go ahead to come on but won't. So at this time I think it is the coil in the clutch is bad. Seems to be a common problem with these Kia compressors. Now the question is do I just order the coil for $46 or by a total Reman compressor for $129. I am hopping I can just get by with the coil and do it with the compressor on the car. That way I can save the freon already in the system and don't have to pump it down and reload it. What do you all think compressor or coil. I am cheap, disable Marine on a tough budget.
I did see a youtube video of a guy that replace the coil with the compressor still on the car. I look at mine and it looks really tight. Might just have to remove the compressor after all just to do the coil.

2005 Sedona EX, Turbo, NOS 150shot, custom dual exhaust. Lowered 2"-5", Neon lights, custom tail lights. limo tint, DVD entertainment system.
Mom Toy is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-10-2014, 09:56 AM
PLP
Super Moderator
 
PLP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Haslett, MI, USA, Earth
Posts: 6,803
Drives: 2016 FIAT 500X Trekking Plus AWD; 2016 Kia Forte5 SX 1.6T A/T
Gallery: 3
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Garage

once you hear the click check if the compressor is spinning.

If the clutch engaged the inner ring will start spinning.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
USA - paid, repair manual

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Canadian owner manuals (still free)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Europe - paid, repair manual

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Do you talk/text and drive? Watch it. Very interesting test:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
PLP is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-30-2014, 08:34 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Fix a/c

I order a new a/c coil from ebay for $48. Spent one day replacing the coil on the a/c compressor. Did it with the compressor on the car. Didn't want to lose the freon. Was difficult to do but managed to get it done. Just wish I would had spent the extra to buy the clutch kit too. I just used the old one. It works and is nice and cold. Some times it stops and blows hot then starts back up again blowing cold. But with trouble shooting was able to find the problem.

2005 Sedona EX, Turbo, NOS 150shot, custom dual exhaust. Lowered 2"-5", Neon lights, custom tail lights. limo tint, DVD entertainment system.
Mom Toy is offline  
 

  Kia Forum > KIA Models > Kia Carnival & Sedona Forum



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On