Hi, from Costa Rica, problem with start - Kia Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-05-2008, 09:47 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Hi, from Costa Rica, problem with start

Hi, how are you?
I'm from Costa Rica, so my english it is not good.

I have a Sorento 2004, 3.5 v6, and have the same problem as few people here, when the car is hot, it starts quick, but when the car have more than 1 hour its really hard to start, but, when i let my car stay in the garage for 2 days and then i go to start it, it start quick with no problem. i hope you understand what i'm traying to say, and i hope you can helpme to find what is the problem with it.
Thankyou so much.

jeftormo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-06-2008, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Aref_Bilal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Abu-Dhabi, UAE
Posts: 402
Drives: 2005 Kia Sorento EX
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Welcome,

Your English is good and clear, however you need to give out more information such as:

> Millage/Kilometers on your odometer.
> How long a ago did you do your major maintenance.
> Last time you changed your Fuel Filter.
> After you manage to start the car when it's hot, does the engine shake soon after the start.
> After a hot start, does smoke come out of the exhaust and what color it is.
> Did you notice this problem after you started filling at another petrol station.
> Anything else that you noticed abnormal since this problem started.

Regards,
Aref_Bilal is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-06-2008, 05:07 PM
Veteran
 
pistnbroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK a sad cold place
Posts: 1,047
Drives: 2006 3.5 Sorento 4x4
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

bad starting for some people has been caused by the crank positon sensor ...thats on the left hand camshaft drive wheel and is accessible by removing a cover top left of engine ...you can change in 20 min ..cost I am not sure ...see the on line service manual .

Could be a fueling problem ...access to filter is under the rear right hand seat .....
RULES OF KIA OWNERSHIP
1...Unplug the butterfly system.. get your recall done on this one
2.. dont over tighten the aux belts or you will break the crankshaft bolt..get your recall on this

..your english is fine easier to understand than 04 sorento LX !!!

Last edited by pistnbroke; 08-06-2008 at 05:12 PM.
pistnbroke is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-06-2008, 06:05 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pistnbroke View Post
bad starting for some people has been caused by the crank positon sensor ...thats on the left hand camshaft drive wheel and is accessible by removing a cover top left of engine ...you can change in 20 min ..cost I am not sure ...see the on line service manual .

Could be a fueling problem ...access to filter is under the rear right hand seat .....
RULES OF KIA OWNERSHIP
1...Unplug the butterfly system.. get your recall done on this one
2.. dont over tighten the aux belts or you will break the crankshaft bolt..get your recall on this

..your english is fine easier to understand than 04 sorento LX !!!

if this sensor would be bad, could be detected by the scanner? because I took it to scan and not showed any problems.
thanks for the comments about my English, I am glad to hear that.
jeftormo is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-06-2008, 06:18 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aref_Bilal View Post
Welcome,

Your English is good and clear, however you need to give out more information such as:

> Millage/Kilometers on your odometer.
> How long a ago did you do your major maintenance.
> Last time you changed your Fuel Filter.
> After you manage to start the car when it's hot, does the engine shake soon after the start.
> After a hot start, does smoke come out of the exhaust and what color it is.
> Did you notice this problem after you started filling at another petrol station.
> Anything else that you noticed abnormal since this problem started.

Regards,
39k miles
-
2k miles or 2 months ago.
yes it shakes a little
when i start the car after 2 days park in home, it throw white smoke for the exhaust, but at least it starts quick with no problem. but the in the other hand, when i start it 1 or 2 hours after shutitdown, it's really hard to start.
thank all of you, for your help.
jeftormo is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-06-2008, 10:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Aref_Bilal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Abu-Dhabi, UAE
Posts: 402
Drives: 2005 Kia Sorento EX
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

If this problem started after your last maintenance two months ago, then your car has been mistuned during that service. Take it back and let them sort it out.

Otherwise, i would first look at the fuel filter first.
Aref_Bilal is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-06-2008, 11:39 PM
Veteran
 
pistnbroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK a sad cold place
Posts: 1,047
Drives: 2006 3.5 Sorento 4x4
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

You carnt tune a car with a computer ..no carbs ,no ignition timing or valve clearances to adjust .....the white smoke is probably water vapour and occures often in a colder climate though check your radiator water bottle is not slowly droping .....not sure if the cam sensor shows a mil light ..there are other posts on this but yes check the filter in the fuel tank...punch a hole in it if it looks blocked and if that cures it change the filter or fit an in line one you can get at easy.
By the way Areif what the cost of petrol where you are ..I understand its 15c a litre in Saudi (60c a us gallon for you tanks ) its $1.45 litre here in australia thats $5.50 a us gallon

Last edited by pistnbroke; 08-06-2008 at 11:45 PM.
pistnbroke is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-07-2008, 02:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Aref_Bilal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Abu-Dhabi, UAE
Posts: 402
Drives: 2005 Kia Sorento EX
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Petrol in Abu-Dhabi is not as cheap as Saudi so we pay 6.25 Dirhams or $1.6 US dollars for an Imperial Gallon. Which works out at $0.37 per liter.

Nearly 40% of cars are 4x4s

Last edited by Aref_Bilal; 08-07-2008 at 02:37 AM.
Aref_Bilal is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-07-2008, 02:40 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Low Country East Coast USA
Posts: 2,878
Drives: 2010 SOUL + Auto (B2522),2010 Soul SPORT Limited Edition Stick (B2581)
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pistnbroke View Post
You carnt tune a car with a computer ..no carbs ,no ignition timing or valve clearances to adjust .....the white smoke is probably water vapour and occures often in a colder climate though check your radiator water bottle is not slowly droping .....not sure if the cam sensor shows a mil light ..there are other posts on this but yes check the filter in the fuel tank...punch a hole in it if it looks blocked and if that cures it change the filter or fit an in line one you can get at easy.
By the way Areif what the cost of petrol where you are ..I understand its 15c a litre in Saudi (60c a us gallon for you tanks ) its $1.45 litre here in australia thats $5.50 a us gallon
You REALLY think I am going to let you get away with this one? Please do not even think so. The "you carnt tune a car with a computor" is so lame and stupid that is defies even a passing slam on you. Yet again you come forth with words form mount high and no, absolutly NONE! prefaceing. And those here that might not think fast enough to see you BS will take it and not think. And I hope not do damage in the future for it. You really are a class act pstn. And here I have been so low key as of late. Sad sad sad.

Two things
1) you can tune ANY car to some point if it has a computor and you have the algrythum keys. Not all cars can be tuned for all the same things and inputs. Hense the dealer software flashes would be impossible if you CARNT.
2) not all but many home and office computors weather tower or laptop can and will reprogram AKA (TUNE) any car if they have the proper program to do so on them.

So pick one version of how we all could have read your lame comment and YOUR WRONG period.

BTW Yes carbs are not, but INJECTORS are tuneable

BTW Some vechs if not all can have thier Ing timing rebalanced. Even COIL PACKS need triggers. And they can be manipultated.

BTW Do not tell a few of the worlds premier eng manufacturers (range rover not one of them) that thier electronic valve techoligy can not be possible. Many do in fact by accident (aka side benifit) have the capablitiy (some do use too) to adjust while running the VALVE CLEARENCE. Honda might be a case in point. And the ACURA NSX out of thier garages is one. The 3.0/3.2L acura eng did have variable valve timing. And it was not teh same as the Honda VTEC system in many ways. It had I recall or some one does electrionic soleiniods doing the work. Hense they can and do tighten up the cam to valve clearance on an ongoing basis.

So in closeing your WRONG WRONG WRONG WRONG WRONG


Best Car Insurance | Auto Protection Today | FREE Trade-In Quote

Last edited by 04SorentoLX; 08-07-2008 at 03:12 PM.
04SorentoLX is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-07-2008, 04:55 PM
Veteran
 
pistnbroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK a sad cold place
Posts: 1,047
Drives: 2006 3.5 Sorento 4x4
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aref_Bilal View Post
If this problem started after your last maintenance two months ago, then your car has been mistuned during that service.

.
My comment was a reference to the above ..no tuning is done during a normal service on a computer controlled car ...We all know that you can re map the computer re size injectors etc but thats not done in a service..

Why do you get so excited ??? What pills are you on ????

The words you are looking for are sorry sorry sorry

Last edited by pistnbroke; 08-07-2008 at 05:01 PM.
pistnbroke is offline  
Reply


Top

  Kia Forum > KIA Models > Kia Sorento Forum > 2003-2010 Sorento Forum



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



  Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intermittent start problem with spells of cutting out BlueMetal 2G (2006 - 2011) Rio & Rio5 0 06-19-2018 07:01 AM
Very Intermittent No Start Issue ??? BuckSkin 1G (1993 - 2002) Sportage 33 02-07-2018 05:52 PM
immobiliser problem ECU locking cannot start dcan 1G (1993 - 2002) Sportage 1 10-12-2009 07:43 PM
kia optima start problem smoothwater72 Kia Magentis & Optima Forum 1 06-24-2008 12:02 AM
need help cranks but does not start jslider Kia Sportage Forum 9 05-18-2007 06:40 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On