Kia Forum Kia Forum Header Right
Kia-Forums.com is owned and operated by AutoForums.com, Inc. Kia-Forums.com is an ehthusiast website dedicated to the discussion of Kia Vehicles, Kia Family Cars and Kia SUVs. Kia-Forums.com is completely unofficial and is not endorsed in any way by KIA Motor Corp, its affiliates, or its subsidiaries. KIAź is a registered trademark of KIA Motors Corp. in Canada, the United States, and in other countries around the world. No challenge to the status of KIAź's registered trademarks is intended.

» Site Navigation
» Home
Google Links

» Wheel & Tire Center

» Log in
User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!
Sponsors

Sponsors

» Auto Resources
Simplify car buying with Kia car reviews on new Kia cars such as a Kia Rio and many other Kia cars. Find a dealer for a new Kia car.
Go Back   Kia Forum > General > Off-Topic Lounge
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

       
Kia-Forums.com is the premier Kia Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads. Please Register - It's Free!

Reply
 
Trackback Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2006, 04:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
seacam
Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 562
Gallery: 0
Default

Hello,
I received this, is it for real?
seacam

"Dear Sir,

We have noticed that you are a regular contributor on kia forums, and we are interested in contracting your services as a paid beta-tester for our new automotive forums site launch.

In January, we will be launching AutoForums.com - a new online forum community for automotive enthusiasts. While you are a member of your current site, we are looking for enthusiasts who might be willing to join our board, do some beta-testing, and contribute some posts.

We are currently at the post-development stage, and are looking to build the content of our forums in the kia car category. We need experts such as yourself to populate our boards with high-quality, informative posts.

The beta-testing job would pay US$500, and would last 15 days. We would require you to sign-up for a full profile, and complete 100 posts of substance (no "I agree" type posts). Upon completion of your 100 posts (of which a minimum of 35 must be new threads), and verification of your profile, we would send you a check for the full amount. You would then have the option of staying on-board as a moderator if you desired.

AutoForums is owned by VerticalScope Inc., which also owns a number of category-leading print magazines such as Modified Mag, Modified Luxury & Exotics, and Modified Mustangs. (www.modified.com , www.modifiedLE.com , www.modifiedmustangs.com)

Please reply at your earliest convenience, treat this inquiry as confidential.

If interested please Contact: singram@modified.com

Please include any vehicles you own: vehicle make , model and year.

Thank you.
seacam is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-08-2006, 05:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
pepper
Senior Member
 
pepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 403
Drives: 2003 Kia Sedona
Gallery: 0
Default

yeah me too, I just thought its a scam, I just ignored it.


Who'd be stupid enough to think they'd actually get paid for posting the drivel we normally post
pepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 09:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Spec SX
Super Moderator
 
Spec SX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: St. Albans, Vermont
Posts: 4,148
Drives: 07 Sorento LX & 07 Rio LX
Gallery: 0
Default

How were you two contacted? Were you two pmed on this site?
I also moved this thread to a different forum so more could see it becasue others may have been contacted too.
Spec SX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 12:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Schnauzer
Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Korea and U.S.A.
Posts: 716
Drives: 2007 Optima, 2007 Sorento
Gallery: 0
Default

I also received the notice.
Schnauzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 12:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
ahfrederick
Super Moderator
 
ahfrederick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: El Paso, Texas
Posts: 1,970
Drives: 2004 Kia Optima
Gallery: 0
Send a message via AIM to ahfrederick Send a message via Yahoo to ahfrederick
Default

Ok.. well who sent it to you and from where? On here?
ahfrederick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 04:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
54FLX
Senior Member
 
54FLX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Derbyshire UK
Posts: 245
Drives: Sedona 2.9 crdi LE
Gallery: 0
Default

This is the first bit of resonably well written spam I have received, so I investigated.

It came from a gmail account the user had used kia-forums.com in the senders box. (cant remember the exact address)

I checked the domain name registrant for autoforms.com and its genuine. I have also contacted singram@modified.com the address in the mailshot to ask if it is for real. He has responded and he seems genuine. However I still await further contact.

Check out the other sites they list.

Simon
54FLX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 10:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
seacam
Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 562
Gallery: 0
Default

Hello ahfrederick,

I was pmed, if I remember correctly, like Pepper I ignored it.
seacam
seacam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 10:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
seacam
Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 562
Gallery: 0
Default

Hello 54,

And thanks.

My conclusion on this is he is reaching, spread a net see what you get.

After all he contacted me, me! , what ever next.
seacam

PS
BTW do you prefer 54 or Simon?.
seacam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 10:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
seacam
Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 562
Gallery: 0
Default

Hello Pepper,

Yeah excactly, but it's my kind of drivel.
seacam
seacam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 11:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
pepper
Senior Member
 
pepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 403
Drives: 2003 Kia Sedona
Gallery: 0
Default

Yes I was PM'd too I spoke about on another forum (non car related forum I'm a member of) and we came to the conclusion its a little weird.
pepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Kia Forum > General > Off-Topic Lounge



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.0 RC2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ping/Trackback Enabled by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC3