2000 sportage "HOLD" warning light - Kia Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 08-26-2008, 03:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default 2000 sportage "HOLD" warning light

2000 Kia sportage HOLD warning light. What would cause this light to start flashing. The manual says it's the automatic transmission is in a hold mode. What does that mean and what causes it to do that.
leslied is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 08-26-2008, 06:26 PM
Senior Member
 
gomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 272
Drives: 00 Sportage; 55 CJ5
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Send a message via AIM to gomer Send a message via MSN to gomer Send a message via Yahoo to gomer
Default

It could indicate an electrical problem or a low ATF situation. Also, on the side of the shift lever there is a button. when going uphill you can push this button and it keeps the transmission from shifting out. When this is engaged "Hold" appears on the instrument panel.

Save yourself some stress and get Auto Zone or other to retrieve the error codes stored on your ECM. This should tell you what the problem is.

It ain't broke till you can't fix it anymore.
gomer is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 09-13-2008, 01:46 PM
Full Member
 
bubbashrimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Northern Florida
Posts: 95
Drives: 1999 Kia Sportage EX
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Send a message via MSN to bubbashrimp
Default

When I was troubleshooting my car and unplugged the MAF, the HOLD light came on. Maybe when the car goes in LIMP mode it also turns on HOLD??? I couldn't get the light to go off until I reconnected the MAF sensor.

I did notice that I was low on ATF though. Looks like I need to replace the pan gasket.
bubbashrimp is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 01-25-2011, 01:26 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

Thanks - I'm having this issue now...
jokergrin is offline  
Reply

  Kia Forum > KIA Models > Kia Sportage Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On