2000 Sportage stalling problem - Kia Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 02-19-2008, 04:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Question 2000 Sportage stalling problem

Over the past several months my Sportage has had a stalling issue primarily while sitting in traffic after the car has had a chance to warm up. I have had the fuel filter changed, fuel lines blown out, fuel relay changed and now the fuel pump replaced. Has anyone had a similar problem with this?

Last edited by leslied; 02-19-2008 at 06:06 PM.
leslied is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 02-21-2008, 09:06 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

HELLO LESLIED,
YEs..I had this problem on my 1998 SPORTAGE. First, check to see if your VALVE COVER GASKET is leaking..2 coils and 4 spark plugs are HIDDEN (really well under the valve cover)..I think the year 2000 has the same set up..Go to AUTOZONE car parts store..they will do a FREE CODE reading on your car. If it comes up with an ENGINE MISFIRE (Cylinder 1, or 3 0r whatever. I had to REPLACE ONE spark plug wire (my misfire was on cylinder #3).
Get the ORIGINAL Kia spark plug wire(about $13 each from Dealer)..many people with leaky valve covers have OIL go down onto spark plug wires and into spark plugs..this could be your problem. Another is a recall as electrical connectors C123 and C124 can come apart , leading to stalling..I am betting on you have a BAD spark plug/or spark plug wire..GOOD LUCK..and PS DO NOT CHANGE these plugs with engine HOt..you will STRip the threads as the engine is an aluminum head..if you are not a mechanic..don't touch these stupid plugs. They are VERY hard to remove, but you can change the spark plug wire, although its a lot of work just to get at it..let me know how it goes. ALWAYS have a free CODE reading at AUTOZONE..will save you lots of $$.

Last edited by gail; 02-23-2008 at 09:04 PM. Reason: spell
gail is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 02-22-2008, 08:59 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

Thanks soooo much, I will go to Autozone asap.

Leslied
leslied is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 02-22-2008, 09:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 331
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

Les

Some code scanners can pick up what are called "pending" codes as well -- whether the MIL is on or not. AutoTap is one of those... not sure what AutoZone uses.

Harry
Harry Morgan is offline  
Reply

  Kia Forum > KIA Models > Kia Sportage Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Kia Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On