Camshaft sensor, where? - Kia Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 04-12-2007, 12:20 PM
Newbie
 
Ceilingtilemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Macon, Georgia USA
Posts: 3
Drives: Kia Sportage,
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Send a message via Yahoo to Ceilingtilemaker
Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default Camshaft sensor, where?

Please help me, I am looking for where the Camshaft Postioning Sensor is located on a 98 manual tranny Sportage. It won't start, it was running fine and when I cut-off it wouldn't restart, played with it for a year so until one day I went out to "look" again at it when bam it started. We drove it for about 2 weeks and then it has stopped cranking again. I've been reading the posts on this forum and tried to do most of what others say do but for the most part I've done that already. This CMP sensor really has my attention since i'm not getting either coil to fire and one is brand new.

Thanks everyone in advance if you can help.
Ceilingtilemaker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 04-12-2007, 04:26 PM
Member
 
houtxcowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pearland Texas
Posts: 65
Drives: 00' Sporty EX 4x4, 98' Jeep G.Cherokee
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ceilingtilemaker
Please help me, I am looking for where the Camshaft Postioning Sensor is located on a 98 manual tranny Sportage. It won't start, it was running fine and when I cut-off it wouldn't restart, played with it for a year so until one day I went out to "look" again at it when bam it started. We drove it for about 2 weeks and then it has stopped cranking again. I've been reading the posts on this forum and tried to do most of what others say do but for the most part I've done that already. This CMP sensor really has my attention since i'm not getting either coil to fire and one is brand new.

Thanks everyone in advance if you can help.
Ceilingtilemaker:
So this is post #1 for you, welcome to the forum.....

First of all open and bookmark this site.

Global Service Way

This is the GDS site from KIA, there own service people use this site for reference. It is not all inclusive by any means from what I have seen but for things like what your asking about, it is good stuff.

The linik below is for an diagram that shows the camshaft position sensor and its location. It came from the site above by the way.

http://www.kiatechinfo.com/data/manu...G/bc77445a.gif

I have never had to replace mine (my daughters) so I have no direct experience to give you on what to expect. If you go to the GDS site and enter in your info on your Sporty and then find the sections for....

Engine Mechanical Systems
-> Cylinder Head Assembly
--> Camshaft
---> Repair Procedures

.... you will find a basic guide as to how to remove and install the sensor from what I can see. The only thing I know about the location is it is at the back of the engine facing the firewall and it looks like it would be a booger to get it out of that tight area.

Please let us know how you made out. We always encourage follow ups. Hopefully there is another forum member that has some direct experience with this sensor and can give you some real world pointers.

Good Luck to you....
houtxcowboy is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 04-30-2007, 10:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 44
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

You will have to remove the intake tubing that runs across the top of the motor for better access. Undo the wiring connector and remove the two 12mm bolts. It is on the back of the cylinder head on the drivers side. It can be a PITA to get to, but it will come out. Good luck!
danvhp is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 05-05-2007, 05:55 PM
Newbie
 
Ceilingtilemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Macon, Georgia USA
Posts: 3
Drives: Kia Sportage,
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Send a message via Yahoo to Ceilingtilemaker
Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

I got the thing fixed. It was the crankshaft position sensor. The wires got stripped bare from leaking brake fuild causing them to touch bare wires to bare wires. $67.00 us. and two years of looking at it sitting on the side of my house. I recon the wife will start back driving it due to gas prices. Thanks for helping me out, wished I would have ask 2 years ago.
Ceilingtilemaker is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 04-20-2009, 06:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

what does the crank sensor actually do?
honeststeve is offline  
Reply

  Kia Forum > KIA Models > Kia Sportage Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Kia Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On