Automatic Transmission problem - Kia Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 05-10-2011, 08:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default Automatic Transmission problem

Hey everyone, new to the forum and new to the Kia Spectra5.

I have an 06 with 65K on it, just bought it a few months ago.

The problem I am having with the trans is it sometimes shifts hard into 3rd gear when I have the rpms up and then its stuck there. Wont shift up or down just gets stuck in third gear???? I can still use park, reverse, and neutral. Obviously it throws a check engine light, not sure what codes. Last night it did it again so i pulled over and unplugged every wiring harness i could find off the trans and it started shifting fine again. Its an intermittent problem, seems to be fine as long as i keep the rpms down.

Anyone else every have this problem or know what may be causing it????

Thanks
06Spec5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 05-10-2011, 09:12 AM
Moderator
 
cobra259's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Waterford MI
Posts: 2,871
Drives: 1995 Procharged Mustang Cobra -- 2000 Jeep Cherokee 4X4
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)

Default

Have you checked your trans fluid? Level? color? Does it smell burnt?
cobra259 is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 05-10-2011, 03:42 PM
Super Moderator
 
DavesSpectra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,408
Drives: 2007 SpectraLX, 2006 SpectraSX, Kubuntu
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)

Default

06Spec5...
You said "The problem I am having with the trans is it sometimes shifts hard into 3rd gear when I have the rpms up and then its stuck there"
How do you get the RPMs up? Manual shifting from 2nd to 3rd?
If so this car is not a "racing class" vehicle and doesn't like shifting outside of it's normal range (set by the TCM)...
How do I know? look at the cars I/We drive by my sig. They just don't like "manual" shifting. These automatic transmissions are not built for hard driving and nether is the car.
Dave
DavesSpectra is online now  
#4 (permalink) Old 05-10-2011, 03:48 PM
Super Moderator
 
DavesSpectra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,408
Drives: 2007 SpectraLX, 2006 SpectraSX, Kubuntu
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)

Default

Oh...BTW....
Please read about Spectras trashing the engines when driving them with original timing/cam belts in the Spectra section of these forums. This belt MUST be replaced and associated components (tensioner,roller) checked and/or replaced EVERY 60k. Pushing the engine and tranny at 65k without replacing the belt is VERY DANGEROUS to your car and pocketbook.
Dave
DavesSpectra is online now  
#5 (permalink) Old 07-07-2011, 05:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default still stuck

I forgot i even posted this. Trans still getting stuck in third, not sure why, it just does it whenever it wants to. Just driving normally in "Drive" and all of the sudden it shifts HARD into third and stays there????? Usually it goes back to shifting normal when it has been off for a bit. It seems like it would have to be an electronics issue but im no expert on transmissions. Gonna change the oil in the trans this weekend, what type of oil do you recommend?
06Spec5 is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 07-07-2011, 09:50 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Southwest PA
Posts: 1,392
Drives: 10 Optima LX, 95 Astro AWD, 03 Monte Carlo
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)

Default

Some transmission DTCs will cause the trans to enter fail-safe mode when set. When this happens, the TCM commands full line pressure and locks the trans in 3rd gear. You need to find out what DTC is set and get it diagnosed.
spongebob218 is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 07-07-2011, 10:11 PM
Super Moderator
 
DavesSpectra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,408
Drives: 2007 SpectraLX, 2006 SpectraSX, Kubuntu
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)

Default

06Spec5...
I agree with spongebob218... Sounds like the transmission control module believes there is a critical "error" and going into limp mode (3rd gear). It could be as simple as an oxidized connection going to the tranny. If the car runs fine most of the time it's probably something like the above. The fun part is locating what/why it is doing it.
A code reader may pull up some transmission codes that may point in the direction to what may be failing.
The transmission fluid is best bought at the KIA dealership as you don't want to put the wrong type in and "car parts" stores have been known to suggest the wrong type. The dealer should have it in quarts with either Hyundai or KIA part number.
Saving $2~$3 a can could cost you your tranny...just not worth it.
Dave
DavesSpectra is online now  
#8 (permalink) Old 07-22-2011, 02:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default got the codes

Check engine light codes im getting. Ive read a little about them but just wondering what you all think I have going on here. What I might have to replace and how difficult it will be to fix.

PO700
PO748
06Spec5 is offline  
Reply

  Kia Forum > KIA Models > Kia Cerato, Shuma & Spectra Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On