Kia Pro Ceed - turbo - Page 7 - Kia Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #61 of 197 (permalink) Old 11-15-2012, 07:17 AM
Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 725
Drives: pro_ceed 1.6 CRDi 66kw (2008)
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

@jajceko


man, you disappeared - any update ?
Is the job done ?

I guess you are enjoying your new ride
Nikola is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 197 (permalink) Old 11-15-2012, 08:32 AM
Expert
 
dubster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK! Tunbridge Wells & Rochester
Posts: 853
Drives: RIP :( 2010 Pro_Cee'd - Infra Red 2
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Garage

Default

Agreed, we need updates !!
Wanna know how the newly modified engine goes, what kinda BHP & Torque figures (before & after mod) and she drives, both normal town & 'quick mode'

Hope all's good and you're super happy with the result jajceko.

If in doubt, Accelerate!
dubster is offline  
post #63 of 197 (permalink) Old 11-15-2012, 09:09 AM Thread Starter
Full Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 98
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

well...there is an update...but not great

since all the major parts of this project were ordered from outside (Europe/USA), so was turbo.
the assembly was completed, we were ready to do the mapping, started the car and found out that the turbo was missing a part of it and because of it it was throwing oil into exhaust ...
so..we had to order another turbo and send the broken one back. so we waited for 15 more days for the new one to arrive.
and it did, at monday and we made adjustment and everything was on a car...
AAAAND...same thing ...throwing oil into exhaust...
we checked everything and it can only be turbo...
so now we are looking for a different supplier for turbo...maybe some turbo from hyundai will go ...we will see...there are few options

anyway...i am driving my car now with different intake system and it sounds brutal
am thinking that it will take another 1-2 weeks for project to be finished...

the good side of all this is that nothing is broken on the car and that the only problem is waiting...

will keep you posted
jajceko is offline  
post #64 of 197 (permalink) Old 11-15-2012, 09:17 AM Thread Starter
Full Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 98
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

and if anyone is wandering...i didnt pay a single cent for anything that has been done to the car yet...
and i still completly trust the guys that are doing this job with everything
jajceko is offline  
post #65 of 197 (permalink) Old 11-17-2012, 09:14 AM
Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 725
Drives: pro_ceed 1.6 CRDi 66kw (2008)
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

I hope that the turbo fuss didn't cost too much (shipping, etc).

Keep us posted, I'm still optimistic that it will be a success when everything settles into its place.
Nikola is offline  
post #66 of 197 (permalink) Old 11-19-2012, 03:43 AM
Expert
 
dubster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK! Tunbridge Wells & Rochester
Posts: 853
Drives: RIP :( 2010 Pro_Cee'd - Infra Red 2
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Garage

Default

Wow man, sounds like some major issues with supplier, but the guys are on the case.
Glad she already 'sounds' awesome, really hope the next turbo does the trick for you.

Good luck

If in doubt, Accelerate!
dubster is offline  
post #67 of 197 (permalink) Old 11-19-2012, 09:39 AM Thread Starter
Full Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 98
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

to Nikola: it only cost me time since i didnt pay for anything yet...

to dubster: yes...and it is very strange since they installed similar turbine from same supplier two days before i drove my car to their shop...

anyway...turbine should arrive this week, but i need my car...so ...will probably take it to the shop next week...

for now i can only say nice words about this guys and their team because they made everything they can to fix this situation...
jajceko is offline  
post #68 of 197 (permalink) Old 11-19-2012, 10:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 204
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jajceko View Post

because of it it was throwing oil into exhaust
It may not show up immediately but when oil enters the catalyst (which will be afrer the turbo) it can cause problems which will lead to failure, oil can also damage the lambda sensor which is pretty sensitive for a part that lives in a hostile environment like the exhaust.

Don't expect your garage will want to replace them at present but the company who supplied the faulty turbo's should be ultimately responsible for any damage.
seven7 is offline  
post #69 of 197 (permalink) Old 11-19-2012, 03:09 PM Thread Starter
Full Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 98
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

to seven7: well...the car didnt run much with turbo on...soon as they noticed (and there was a lot of smoke) they turned off the engine...
also...since i run on LPG...i dont have ecotest...so we removed catalyst...they gave it to me so maybe ill put it on someday...but i doubt it...i think the engine will breathe better without it...
jajceko is offline  
post #70 of 197 (permalink) Old 11-19-2012, 03:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Essex
Posts: 342
Drives: 09 Pro-Ceed 1.4 ZR7
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)

Default

Sounds like theres an issue with the oil seal on the shaft of the turbo if its getting oil into the zorst. At least it happened in the shop and not out on the road, that could have been bad.....
AyJay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Kia Forum > KIA Models > Kia Cee'd Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Kia Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On