Check Engine Light/Codes - Kia Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 08-28-2011, 11:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Drives: 2005 Kia Sedona EX
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default Check Engine Light/Codes

I have a 2005 kia sedona Ex. I am the only owner it has had and I have done all regular maintance. 2 weeks ago the check engine light came on and threw a code for a bad coil. I replaced the coil and light went off for 2 weeks. Now it is back on and throwing codes P0430 and P0453. Can anyone help me with these codes so I can fix the problems and get van inspected. Thanks for your time.
djcmcjbflee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 08-30-2011, 10:25 PM
Veteran
 
Pacosworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Urbana, IL
Posts: 1,047
Drives: 1990 VW Corrado SC 1.8L, 2005 Kia Spectra EX
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djcmcjbflee View Post
I have a 2005 kia sedona Ex. I am the only owner it has had and I have done all regular maintance. 2 weeks ago the check engine light came on and threw a code for a bad coil. I replaced the coil and light went off for 2 weeks. Now it is back on and throwing codes P0430 and P0453. Can anyone help me with these codes so I can fix the problems and get van inspected. Thanks for your time.
P0430 is for the Bank2 pre-cat. Not really surprising. You might pull the pre-cat off and see if all the material has come apart and spit it into the exhaust system.

P0453 is for the Fuel Tank Pressure Sensor. These sensors don't go out that often, at least in my experience. The sensor is mounted on top of the fuel pump assembly. I believe you can get access to it from the floorboard behind the 2nd row seats.

http://images.animelab.com/gallery/Akira/Images/akira022.jpg
Mike AKA Paco
For US Kia service info Kiatechinfo
Pacosworld is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 09-09-2011, 05:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Drives: 2005 Kia Sedona EX
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

Thank you so much for the info on the codes. I went online to look for the converter and there are many to choose from. Can you tell me if this is the converter closest to the radiator? They list 2 converters for the front and one says close to radiator and the other says closest to firewall. I am guessing it is the one closest to the radiator. Also the fuel pressure sensor, is that listed as a fuel tank pressure sensor. I can't seem to find it listed. Thanks again for all the help.

Dan
djcmcjbflee is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 09-09-2011, 11:40 PM
Veteran
 
Pacosworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Urbana, IL
Posts: 1,047
Drives: 1990 VW Corrado SC 1.8L, 2005 Kia Spectra EX
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djcmcjbflee View Post
Thank you so much for the info on the codes. I went online to look for the converter and there are many to choose from. Can you tell me if this is the converter closest to the radiator? They list 2 converters for the front and one says close to radiator and the other says closest to firewall. I am guessing it is the one closest to the radiator. Also the fuel pressure sensor, is that listed as a fuel tank pressure sensor. I can't seem to find it listed. Thanks again for all the help.

Dan
Yep, bank 2 would closest to the radiator. And it would be the fuel tank pressure sensor.

http://images.animelab.com/gallery/Akira/Images/akira022.jpg
Mike AKA Paco
For US Kia service info Kiatechinfo
Pacosworld is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 09-11-2011, 12:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Drives: 2005 Kia Sedona EX
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

I have searched the net for 2+ hours and can't seem to find a place to buy a new fuel tank pressure sensor. Could it be that it is listed under another name? Maybe you could lead me in the right direction. Gosh this stuff gets frustrating at times. Also, when the code shows for the FTP sensor does it mean the sensor is shot or could there be another problem. Just wondering. Don't know a whole lot when it comes to these sensors. Thanks again for the help.
djcmcjbflee is offline  
Reply

  Kia Forum > KIA Models > Kia Carnival & Sedona Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Kia Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On