05 Sedona - Replace Manifold Catalytic Converter? - Kia Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 02:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 38
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default 05 Sedona - Replace Manifold Catalytic Converter?

Anyone ever replace a MCC?

I have a check engine light stating that Bank 2 Catalytic Converter not at peak efficiency. The light has been on for a while...and just recently I lost about 30-50% power. If I rev up the engine while parked, it will sound ok until 4000+RPMs. At which point it starts to rev up and down by itself.

Vroom----vrooom----vrooom-----etc.

I replaced the Sensor 2 Bank 2 HO2S last fall when it went out. Shortly after is when I got the new error code talking about Catalytic Converter not at peak efficiency (bank 2).

My assumption is that the catalytic is pretty clogged up.

I'm curious if anyone has bought any aftermarket MCCs? I'm thinking about getting this one: link

Any advice would be appreciated!

Sully
lt_sullivan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 02:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: LEWIS CENTER O HI O
Posts: 335
Drives: 1983 JEEP CHEROKEE WIDETRACK, 1987 FORD MUSTANG ASC/MCLAREN, 2001 DODGE DAKOTA QUAD CAB 4X4
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

Wouldnt Say They Are Common...but I've Sold Replacements For Them Before. Kps
KIAPARTSOURCE is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 02:41 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: CNY-USA
Posts: 1,016
Drives: 2004 Optima 2.4 EX, 2005 Yamaha R1 (street) 2001 GSXR 1000 (track)
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

Never tried an aftermarket one, but I've replaced a bunch of those converters. Not terribly difficult, but they are a little involved. Just make sure you get all the parts you will need. For ease on reassembly, I would recommend (full list): new converter, gasket between manifold and converter, 2 gaskets to go between the converters and the flex pipe, 4 new nuts for bolting the flex pipe onto the converters, and you could get new fasteners from the converter to the manifold just in case. What made the converter fail? Did you replace the spark plugs at the recommended interval?
mattybyzf is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 07:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 38
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

What made it go wrong.....

Well....last fall, I pressure washed the engine. Afterwards, the car ran SUPER rough with check engine light on. I ran it for a few days in 100 degree + heat and it finally dried out. However, the check engine light didnt go off. The error code pointed to Bank 2 Sensor 2 HO2S. I pulled the original and it looked to me like it had exploded. Put in a genuine KIA replacement and that cleared the check engine. Engine was running fine BTW.

A day later check engine came back. This time it is for the BANK 2 cat converter. Its been on for about 4-5 months (had 2 surgeries and couldnt take care of it earlier).

Maybe while it was running SUPER rough for those few days, it gummed up the cat converter?

Sure seems too coincidental about me washing the engine and it going bad. So...they must be related.

Sully
lt_sullivan is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 03-02-2010, 02:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 38
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattybyzf View Post
Never tried an aftermarket one, but I've replaced a bunch of those converters. Not terribly difficult, but they are a little involved. Just make sure you get all the parts you will need. For ease on reassembly, I would recommend (full list): new converter, gasket between manifold and converter, 2 gaskets to go between the converters and the flex pipe, 4 new nuts for bolting the flex pipe onto the converters, and you could get new fasteners from the converter to the manifold just in case. What made the converter fail? Did you replace the spark plugs at the recommended interval?
Matt,
First off....I believe BANK 2 is also known as left? I also believe it is located near the radiator? Am I right?

Secondly, does the R&R of the BANK 2 manifold cat converter require that remove the exhaust manifold as well? I'm curious as to how you get access to it? How many hours of skilled labor?


Here's a pic...but you have to login to kia tech info first: "http://www.kiatechinfo.com/viewer_si/dispimg.asp?path=/data/PASSENGER/KM/KMA/ENG/DTC-Images/KM-GQ13-IMAGES-ENG/gq3.5engp043011.jpg]"


Thanks!
Sully
lt_sullivan is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 03-02-2010, 11:18 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: CNY-USA
Posts: 1,016
Drives: 2004 Optima 2.4 EX, 2005 Yamaha R1 (street) 2001 GSXR 1000 (track)
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

You are correct. Bank 2 is the left side, or directly behind the radiator in this case. R+R of the coverter does not require removal of the exhaust manifold. If you have the available tools, and everything goes relatively smooth, i'd say it shouldn't take more that 1.5 hours at most. You access it by removing the flex pipe from both bank 1 and 2 converters (you can leave the rear flange of the flexpipe untouched, the part that connects to the rest of the exhaust). These nuts are usually quite corroded, so i'd recommend getting new ones and new gaskets. You have to remove the exhaust manifold heat shield. The easiest way to do this (without cutting/scratching your hands a lot) is to remove the plastic cover on the radiator support, and the radiator support itself. Once that is out, remove at least the driver side radiator fan. This will give you a lot more access to remove the shield. You can remove the passenger side fan also, but this is a little more complicated to remove compared to the driver side. Next, remove the heat shield on the converter itself. Once the heat shields are off you should be able to see the 5 fasteners holding the converter and manifold together. Should be 2 bolts from the top, and 3 studs with washers and nuts from the bottom. Just undo these and it'll come right off. You'll need a new gasket for this too.
mattybyzf is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 03-03-2010, 12:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 38
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

Wow Matt....THANKS!

You are the man!

I'm currently in a foot cast for another month....but my plan is to print out your instructions and hand it to my buddy. hahaha!

I'll help from the window. hahahha!

Thanks again!

Sully
lt_sullivan is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 03-23-2010, 08:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 32
Drives: 05' Kia Sedona LX
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

Great info. Not to thread jack, but... I have catalyst efficiency below threshold code. Car lost alot of power while my wife was driving. I'm assuming the cat converter is shot and will probably replace it myself.
Tpr430 is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 03-23-2010, 11:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 38
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

Yup....you have a jacked cat converter. I had mine (BANK 2) replaced last week. The CAT CONVERTER was completely empty---no waffle at all.

Is yours still under warranty?
lt_sullivan is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 03-24-2010, 11:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 32
Drives: 05' Kia Sedona LX
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

No more warranty. Theres only one converter, right? All this "bank" talk made me wonder. I had P430 error code but that code isnt listed on the Kia Global Tech site and no trouble shooting for that code. Ideas?
Tpr430 is offline  
Reply

  Kia Forum > KIA Models > Kia Carnival & Sedona Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Kia Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On