2005 Kia Sedona RPM Gauge Stopped Working - Kia Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 07-21-2009, 08:25 AM
Newbie
 
Peale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brattleboro, VT
Posts: 10
Drives: 2002 Kia Rio Cinco, 2005 Kia Sedona
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default 2005 Kia Sedona RPM Gauge Stopped Working

As the subject says, the RPM gauge on my '05 Sedona stopped working. It was partially working, but it stopped altogether a week ago. Car seems to be working okay, but did notice a drop in gas mileage.
Peale is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 07-21-2009, 08:51 AM
Newbie
 
Peale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brattleboro, VT
Posts: 10
Drives: 2002 Kia Rio Cinco, 2005 Kia Sedona
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

Just checked the codes, I get

P0320 and
P0320 PD

What's the PD?
Peale is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 07-21-2009, 12:36 PM
Veteran
 
Pacosworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Urbana, IL
Posts: 1,043
Drives: 1990 VW Corrado SC 1.8L, 2005 Kia Spectra EX
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peale View Post
Just checked the codes, I get

P0320 and
P0320 PD

What's the PD?
Pending.

P0320 Ignition/Distributor Engine Speed Input Circuit
Possible cause
● Poor connection
● Open or short in IG failure sensor circuit
● Faulty IG failure sensor
● Faulty PCM

Sensor sits on top of thermostat housing. You might run through the DTC diagnostic tree on http://www.kiatechinfo.com Good luck and keep us updated.

http://images.animelab.com/gallery/Akira/Images/akira022.jpg
Mike AKA Paco
For US Kia service info Kiatechinfo
Pacosworld is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 06-25-2010, 10:37 AM
Newbie
 
Peale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brattleboro, VT
Posts: 10
Drives: 2002 Kia Rio Cinco, 2005 Kia Sedona
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

Finally got around to doing this. After finding the harness, I get the following (according to the docs @ KiaTechInfo.Com

Chassis to pin 1 - 12.2VDC

Chassis to pin 3 - 10.3VDC

Ohms reading between chassis and pin 4 - 10 Ohms.

So if my diagnostic thinking is right, there's a short between chassis and pin 3, and/or a short to the ECM.

Now...where's the ECM? I'm looking it up now.

Last edited by Peale; 06-25-2010 at 12:37 PM.
Peale is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 08-02-2010, 03:30 PM
Newbie
 
Peale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brattleboro, VT
Posts: 10
Drives: 2002 Kia Rio Cinco, 2005 Kia Sedona
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

Haven't seen anything obvious, any hints to what I should look for?
Peale is offline  
Reply

  Kia Forum > KIA Models > Kia Carnival & Sedona Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On