Low tire pressure sensor light came on - Kia Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 06-28-2010, 12:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Almost Heaven, USA
Posts: 63
Drives: 96 Ford Ranger, 08 Rondo LX V6
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default Low tire pressure sensor light came on

This morning my wife told me her low tire pressure dash light came on.
Does anyone have any good information on this issue.

I'm in the hospital and would like to tell her what action she needs to take to get the light off.

I called the salesman where we bought the car and he said anyone could put the air in...but he said to check all four....and the spare. He didn't say what pressure but I'd guess 35 in front and 33 in rear.

I don't know what the manual says about the correct pressure....does anyone here know?.

I'd like to get this corrected today......my friend has an air compressor and can do it...........I'd just like to hear from several members here. I put more faith in you guys than the dealer. Thanks to all.

2nd owner 2008 Rental/Lease Rondo LXV6 with 21,500 miles on purchase date, May 27, 2009
burnselk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 06-28-2010, 02:36 PM
Full Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 182
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

You're not just kidding us, are you?

How long have you had the vehicle? Never checked the air pressure? That's one of the first things to do with a new vehicle. Required pressures are in the manual and on an information plate on the car. The spare does not have a TPM sensor, but pressure should be checked regularly.

If unsure, don't call a salesman about technical matters.

Sorry that you're in the hospital. Maybe reading the owner's manual would help you pass the time.

Get well soon.
L.C. is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 06-28-2010, 03:08 PM
Full Member
 
jonamse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: North Vancouver , BC
Posts: 134
Drives: 09 Rondo EX 4cyl
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

I don't think Rondo comes with tyre pressure sensor, mine does not. Does 08 model comes with such high tech? I think your wife was talking about the Ford.

In case of Rondo- it is 33 psi both front and back- it is on the plate at the drivers door side, but I think you can add 2lb no problem but all tyre has to be the same.

Since you are in the hospital, tell you wife to go to the gas station take "full" service
ask the kid to do the job for her. If she can do it herself - great!

Java (Kia Rondo) | Fuelly
Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30, WIX Oil Filter, Shell 89 Silver, Ecometer, MP3000 炭 Power, Volk HHO Dry Cell: "The Tiny Titan 771" (TBA) and my right foot.
jonamse is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 06-28-2010, 03:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Almost Heaven, USA
Posts: 63
Drives: 96 Ford Ranger, 08 Rondo LX V6
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default

Hey guys, go here to learn about Kia's TPMS.

Kia TPMS - Kia TPMS Tools & Tire Pressure Monitoring Systems

This site gives a full explanation of Kia's Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TMPS) as well as a picture of what some of them look like. And yes, my 2008 Rondo has the TMPS.

Guess I should have Googled my question before posting it here.

L.C. my experienced salesman knows more about Kia's than most mechanics.....and he can get me in without a long wait.

Found this too..../.It is a low tire light--one or more tires on your car are underinflated-if it recently got cold in your area that would cause it--or you have a nail or something in one of your tires--check the tire pressure--the recommended pressure is on the door or jamb on the drivers side--do not use what is on the side of the tire--inflate your tires and drive the car--it might take a couple minutes for the light to go off--if it does not go off you have a problem with your tire pressure monitor and it will have to go in to a shop for that

2nd owner 2008 Rental/Lease Rondo LXV6 with 21,500 miles on purchase date, May 27, 2009

Last edited by burnselk; 06-28-2010 at 03:51 PM.
burnselk is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 06-28-2010, 07:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kawartha Lakes, Ont
Posts: 204
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonamse View Post
I don't think Rondo comes with tyre pressure sensor, mine does not. Does 08 model comes with such high tech? I think your wife was talking about the Ford.
Canadian models don't (thank God), US models have do.
Mikos is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 06-28-2010, 07:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Greater Montreal Canada
Posts: 223
Drives: 2010 Rondo EX V6 5 passenger
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikos View Post
Canadian models don't (thank God), US models have do.
Don't hold your breath as I believe every car will have it next year in Canada
Freedom55 is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 06-28-2010, 09:27 PM
Full Member
 
jonamse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: North Vancouver , BC
Posts: 134
Drives: 09 Rondo EX 4cyl
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

I think we just need to get one of those plastic thingy from Canadian Tire on the tyre tube to monitor the pressure - instead of seeing light on the dashboard.
More love to our car probably needed- like once a week, checking fluids and stuff - 10min max no more than that eh?

Java (Kia Rondo) | Fuelly
Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30, WIX Oil Filter, Shell 89 Silver, Ecometer, MP3000 炭 Power, Volk HHO Dry Cell: "The Tiny Titan 771" (TBA) and my right foot.
jonamse is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 06-28-2010, 11:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Almost Heaven, USA
Posts: 63
Drives: 96 Ford Ranger, 08 Rondo LX V6
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default

Well, my problem is now resolved.

My father-in-law put air in all five tires this evening and my wife reports the TPMS light went off after about 10 to 15 minutes of driving.

BTW, the spare also needed air.

2nd owner 2008 Rental/Lease Rondo LXV6 with 21,500 miles on purchase date, May 27, 2009
burnselk is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 06-29-2010, 06:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Greater Montreal Canada
Posts: 223
Drives: 2010 Rondo EX V6 5 passenger
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonamse View Post
I think we just need to get one of those plastic thingy from Canadian Tire on the tyre tube to monitor the pressure - instead of seeing light on the dashboard.
More love to our car probably needed- like once a week, checking fluids and stuff - 10min max no more than that eh?
I had these devices a few years ago they look like valve extensions and they are available with various fixed settings to suit just about every car: green indicator means pressure O.K, yellow needs a little bit of air, red means pressure is much too low. The problem is that these gizmos are not air tight and it's like having a slow leak on 4 tires...I threw them awayGreat idea, bad quality.

Most cars have at least one tire which is underinflated and that can lead to dangerous conditions, blow out, loss of control, pulling to one side, increased fuel consumption to name a few hence the TPMS on recent cars. Tires do lose air and cold temperature will cause a loss of pressure (law of physics). Bicycle tires are even worse as they need air every week if not every other day on road bikes with very narrow tires which need high pressure i.e. 100-120 PSI.

Some TPMS show actual pressure on each tire which is a great idea but I don't know on the Rondo as my car is built for the Canadian market so no TPMS yet...
Freedom55 is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 06-29-2010, 07:40 AM
Full Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 182
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freedom55 View Post
Don't hold your breath as I believe every car will have it next year in Canada
Unfortunately most of them already do. I hate them. This actually entered into my decision to get the Rondo.

The sensor/transmitters have batteries good for a few years. Batteries are not replaceable, The whole thing has to be replaced. Around $100 each. The little suckers have unique addresses, so the car computer has to be reset. More money down the drain.

If you run winter wheels, like I do, more problems. In addition to the cost of rims and tires, you have to buy sensors. Yes. 4 of them. Then pay someone to reset the computer. Gone are the days of just changing your own wheels twice a year and driving away happy.

BTW, spares don't have TPMS sensors. So if the spare has to be used, the warning light will be on and the whole system is useless.

No thank you. I'll live without them for as long as I can and rely on my trusted tire gauge.

What about the rest of the world? Are TPMS universal or only a North American requirement?
L.C. is offline  
Reply

  Kia Forum > KIA Models > Kia Carens & Rondo Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On