How to rotate tires and reset TPMS? - Kia Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 10-07-2009, 08:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: DC Area
Posts: 21
Drives: 2008 Rondo EX 2.4
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default How to rotate tires and reset TPMS?

I searched the forum and could not find the answer.

I generally rotate my tires at home for free. The 08 Rondo EX we have has a TPMS. If I rotate the tires at home do I have to reset the TPMS and how would I reset it? Thanks all
Zuke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 10-07-2009, 01:25 PM
Full Member
 
larrytbm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Spicewood, Tx
Posts: 85
Drives: 03 GMC 2500HD D/A, 08 Rondo EX V6
Gallery: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

I rotated the tires a few weeks ago and didn't do anything with the TPMS. As far as I know, it only warns of low pressure, but not which tire position, so moving the tires is not an issue. But I could be wrong. The manual should have some info as well.
larrytbm is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 10-07-2009, 04:26 PM
PLP
Super Moderator
 
PLP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Haslett, MI, USA, Earth
Posts: 5,678
Drives: 2007 Kia Rondo EX V6 2.7 5P A/T; 2009 Hyundai Elantra GLS, 2.0, I4, 5 SPD M/T sedan
Gallery: 3
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Garage

Default

I confirm that.
Rotation will not do anything to TPMS. This system will warn you if pressure drops below 20 PSI (+/- 3 PSI).
Rotation will not do anything with that. Moreover, even if you loose pressure, and bring it back again - it still will be fine.

www.kiatechinfo.com USA - free service, manuals www.kia.ca/kia-owners-manuals Canada www.kia-hotline.com Europe (paid service!) www.kia.ca/pages/owner/OwnersManual.aspx?lang=en manuals - must pick model, Canadian version - for free
PRINT IT and put on your car Do you talk/text and drive? Watch it: http://www.oprah.com/oprahshow/Watch...bsession-Video
PLP is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 10-07-2009, 10:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

I agree. Rotating your tires will not affect the TPMS.

However, the TPMS more than likely knows where each tire is mounted. When there's a TPMS error, say sensor malfunction. The TPMS will tell the factory scan tool which tire it is according to 1,2,3, or 4. Depending on the manufacturer, the number one tire can either front left or right, or even back left or right. The service manual will tell which tire is where. That info is needed when the sensors have to be manually reset and programmed. Hence the funky TPMS reset tool that every tire shop and dealer now has.

On some new cars, resetting the sensors are done by taking a short trip above 15mph or so. Every vehicle model and manufacturer has it's own thing at times because of the introduction of revisions to the sensors.
pnx-r is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 10-07-2009, 10:54 PM
Veteran
 
kiaracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pittsboro, NC
Posts: 1,251
Drives: 2000 Kia Sephia LS, 1998 Kia Sportage 4x4
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)

Send a message via AIM to kiaracer Send a message via MSN to kiaracer Send a message via Yahoo to kiaracer
Default

TPMS is not affected by tire rotations. as long as the sensor id numbers are still in the system, the system will recognize that the tires have been rotated automatically.

"One who is slack in his work is brother to one who destroys."
kiaracer is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 10-08-2009, 08:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: DC Area
Posts: 21
Drives: 2008 Rondo EX 2.4
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default

Sweet thanks all.
Zuke is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 10-15-2009, 08:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 305
Drives: Sorento EX-V6 AWD
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

I am currently intimately familiar with the TPMS on the rondo and can shed some actual knowledge. I just had my TPMS controller replaced under warranty due to constant illumination of the TPMS light when driving. Quick system description; each wheel has a sensor/transmitter that sends info about both pressure and temperature wirelessly to the receiver which is in the center console of the dash. It listens to all 4 transmitters and reports status. It receives actual data as to temp/pressure, but only displays the TPMS light if there's any (and I do mean any) problem with the system, and the tire light if there's a low pressure/high temp condition. Each sensor is told what position it's in, and then the controller is told which transmitter is in which position. Once again, however, the data is irrelevent to the system. As long as it receives all 4 signals you can rotate the tires wherever you want. If you have a problem with the system, however, they'll need to retrain it for troubleshooting purposes.
whodat90 is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 01-13-2011, 04:25 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

Hi. I'm new here. I really need a video on this and a more simple how to do it steps. I just had my first car 6months ago, so I'm really a newbie. Any links would really helpful.
dwaynexxx is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 01-13-2011, 04:41 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

I came across this general step instruction about how to rotate tires. Is this your first time to do this? I'll try to find something that is specific to our make.
jackj is offline  
Reply

  Kia Forum > KIA Models > Kia Carens & Rondo Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On