Can't connect bluetooth! - Kia Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 06-25-2009, 12:42 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default Can't connect bluetooth!

Today i just brought home my new 2009 Kia Rondo EX 5 seater. I was super excited when I found out that it had bluetooth, but for the life of me I can't figure out how to link it to my phone.
My phone isn't the problem since I tried it with 2 other cell phones but trying to find devices. Everytime, it says device not found.
I am pressing and holding the Pair button until it says Pair Start. Is there anything else I need to do? Please help!
SweetandSunny is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 06-25-2009, 10:03 AM
Full Member
 
base11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Milton, Ontario
Posts: 138
Drives: 2009 Rondo EX 4 cyl
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

Mine does work and is also a 2009 EX 5 seater.
There have been problems with this radio and mine was replaced with one that had the programming changed.

i pretty well followed the skinny manual and my blackberry picked up on KIA as the connection.

I will check my manual at lunch and update you as reading it again may remind me of any issues i had.
base11 is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 06-25-2009, 03:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default

Thanks - I just want to make sure that I am doing everything correctly before I complain to the dealership.
SweetandSunny is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 06-26-2009, 09:48 AM
Full Member
 
base11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Milton, Ontario
Posts: 138
Drives: 2009 Rondo EX 4 cyl
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

yes basically get your phone into search for bluetooth and then hit the pairing button. then your phone should start asking questions.
base11 is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 07-10-2009, 02:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1
Drives: 2009 Kia Rondo
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Unhappy Pair - OK, Connect - not so much

I was able to Pair my Rondo (also a 2009 EX 5-seater) with my cellphone, but when I try connecting it it doesn't work. The bluetooth icon flashes a couple of times and then goes blank. I have made sure that bluetooth is ON on my cell and that they are paired properly but no luck.

Any thoughts?
AprilTiger is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 07-11-2009, 04:00 PM
Full Member
 
base11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Milton, Ontario
Posts: 138
Drives: 2009 Rondo EX 4 cyl
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

as i said i had to send mine back as there was a programming defect.
as is it is now sometimes it works just fine and takes over the calls automatically other times i have to manually switch it over.

but in general works pretty good.
base11 is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 07-20-2009, 12:27 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prince George, BC
Posts: 18
Drives: 09 Rondo EX 7 seater 4 cyl
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

I've had a 09 EX premium 7 seater for 3 weeks now and paired the bluetooth with my phone today for the first time. I was a bit annoyed at first b/c the manual that came with the car had no info on bluetooth, and in fact the radio photos and diagrams in the manual look a little different than the radio in the car (which is the original as far as I can tell. We bought the Rondo 2-months used from a non-Kia dealer and love it, so far).

Although the bluetooth symbol kept lighting up, it wouldn't pair UNTIL I held the pairing button down for a few seconds. Tapping it like other radio buttons does not work (e.g., changing to CD or aux). Once I held it down it looked for something to pair. Then, I went to the bluetooth settings in the phone, added the recently discovered Rondo, and presto it worked. Kinda nifty. The Rondo display even shows the battery charge on the phone and the reception. Maybe this is standard to most people, but we only buy a car every 10 years and found such advancements pretty cool.

First post, by the way, after reading over everybody's shoulders in the weeks prior to buying the car. These forums are also a huge advancement in the past 10 years and really changed the car buying experience!
Rondo Park is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 07-20-2009, 07:01 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 14
Drives: 2010 Honda CR-V (mine), 2009 Rondo(wife's)
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

The wife has a new Rondo EX. We were playing with the Bluetooth on Saturday - got it set up with my Sony Ericsson w580i on the first try, then forgot about it. On Sunday we got a call - it automatically came over the speakers via the Bluetooth, no problems and acording to the person on the other end it sounded fine. So we are happy with it!
bwgreen is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 08-27-2009, 07:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Drives: 2009 Kia Sportage
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by base11 View Post
yes basically get your phone into search for bluetooth and then hit the pairing button. then your phone should start asking questions.
What questions did it ask you? I have a 2009 Sportage that I just bought. I have a Blackberry 8310 Curve.

When I set my curve onto find devices and push the pair button on my radio I can see my Kia on my blackberry. But then I get "Enter numeric passkey for Kia".

What do I enter in here? I cannot find it anywhere in my user manual. Can someone please advice?

Thank you
Mischief07 is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 08-28-2009, 10:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia Canada
Posts: 6
Drives: 2009 rondo ex 4 cylinder
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

There is a key code in the instruction manuel, assuming yours is the same my code was 0000
mr mom is offline  
Reply

  Kia Forum > KIA Models > Kia Carens & Rondo Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On