Replacement Key/Remote - Kia Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 03-03-2008, 07:51 AM
Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 643
Drives: 2008 Kia Rondo EX V6 7P
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default Replacement Key/Remote

Has anyone purchased a replacement key for their Rondo. I was and hour and half away from home this weekend and lost my key on a Sunday!! So now I have to replace both the key and remote! The key is $79 and the remote is $200, completely ridiculous. If any one knows where I can get a key and/or remote cheaper, please let me know.

Update: found a remote with same numbers as mine but list for the Sorento. I e-mailed seller to ask him if it will work.

Appears you need a scan tool to program the remote and key.

Last edited by Narvo; 03-03-2008 at 08:38 AM.
Narvo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 03-03-2008, 05:16 PM
Expert
 
Supacabby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 629
Drives: 2009 Skoda Superb tdi, 2009 Peugeot 308 1.6hdi (110) Sport
Gallery: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)

Default

I've posted elsewhere on here but can't find it!

Key was £35 (appx) & remote £125 (appx) & £30 to reprogramme.

NB: The dealer will need all the keys & remotes as the reprogramming affects any key/remote linked to the vehicle.

Owned 5 Kia Carens as cabs, 3 x Mk2's & 2 x Mk3's (& a Kia Magentis 2.0), all diesel & all worked hard for their living!
Supacabby is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 03-03-2008, 07:22 PM
Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 643
Drives: 2008 Kia Rondo EX V6 7P
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

I ordered a remote on ebay for $15 plus shipping. All I need is the key and the dealer wants $75.
Narvo is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 03-04-2008, 05:51 PM
Expert
 
Supacabby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 629
Drives: 2009 Skoda Superb tdi, 2009 Peugeot 308 1.6hdi (110) Sport
Gallery: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)

Default

Narvo: Could you post the ebay link if it's a company offering the remote at that price please, sure beats the stupid price my local dealer wanted.

I have no choice but to get my dealer to recode the keys & current remote but I'm happy to pay that at only £35 (appx) as my part time driver has had a set of my keys go missing (presumed stolen).

Owned 5 Kia Carens as cabs, 3 x Mk2's & 2 x Mk3's (& a Kia Magentis 2.0), all diesel & all worked hard for their living!
Supacabby is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 03-04-2008, 07:38 PM
Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 643
Drives: 2008 Kia Rondo EX V6 7P
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supacabby View Post
Narvo: Could you post the ebay link if it's a company offering the remote at that price please, sure beats the stupid price my local dealer wanted.
Sure Supacabby,

2007-07 Kia SORENTO REMOTE KEYLESS ENTRY KEY FOB OEM - (eBay.ca item 120227438577 end time 05-Mar-08 15:44:42 EST)

This one is listed for the Sorento but it looks the same as mine other than the small LED light at the top of the remote. The main thing to check is the frequency of the remote. If the FCC ID on the remote is the same as the one on the back of yours it should work after its programmed.

I haven't received mine yet so I cannot confirm its going to work as of yet.

I think I lost my key in a cab, well at least its one of several places I could have lost it!

Last edited by Narvo; 12-22-2008 at 08:10 AM.
Narvo is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 03-05-2008, 10:51 AM
Expert
 
Supacabby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 629
Drives: 2009 Skoda Superb tdi, 2009 Peugeot 308 1.6hdi (110) Sport
Gallery: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Narvo View Post
I think I lost my key in a cab!
I haven't found it, honestly!

Thanks for the link, mine is a T013 not a T011 but I'll check that out later when home from work.

Mark.

Owned 5 Kia Carens as cabs, 3 x Mk2's & 2 x Mk3's (& a Kia Magentis 2.0), all diesel & all worked hard for their living!
Supacabby is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 03-05-2008, 06:58 PM
Full Member
 
partsgal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Posts: 95
Drives: 2011 Hot Red Rondo, with COOL Black Tint... 2.4L EX 5 seat...
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

I am sure it goes without saying of course, but I will say it anyhow.

Be careful when you are programming the key or the remote if you choose to not have the dealer do it. If anything goes wrong, your vehicle will lock down and deprogram your other key to boot. At this point, you will have to have your Rondo towed to the nearest dealership to have it programmed...

So just make sure you know what you are doing, and if you don't, get the dealer to do it.

Also. The numbers on the back of the transmitter should match with whatever one that you choose to get whether it be ebay or your local dealer...

Have a good day Boys
partsgal is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 03-05-2008, 07:14 PM
Expert
 
Supacabby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 629
Drives: 2009 Skoda Superb tdi, 2009 Peugeot 308 1.6hdi (110) Sport
Gallery: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)

Default

Thanks for the wise words Partsgal, I think we get the message

Owned 5 Kia Carens as cabs, 3 x Mk2's & 2 x Mk3's (& a Kia Magentis 2.0), all diesel & all worked hard for their living!
Supacabby is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 03-06-2008, 11:09 AM
Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 643
Drives: 2008 Kia Rondo EX V6 7P
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by partsgal View Post
I am sure it goes without saying of course, but I will say it anyhow.

Be careful when you are programming the key or the remote if you choose to not have the dealer do it. If anything goes wrong, your vehicle will lock down and deprogram your other key to boot. At this point, you will have to have your Rondo towed to the nearest dealership to have it programmed...

So just make sure you know what you are doing, and if you don't, get the dealer to do it.

Also. The numbers on the back of the transmitter should match with whatever one that you choose to get whether it be ebay or your local dealer...

Have a good day Boys
I am not doing it myself. From the research I did it appears the only way you can is with a Kia Scan Tool, which I don't have. If I had one I would do it myself because there are pretty good instructions in the on line manual.

I will have them program my new remote when I go back for my alignment issue. I suspect I won't pay anything for this or the replacement key after what I have been through!

The numbers on the remote I ordered matched the ones on the back of mine. It had a third set of numbers as well but mine didn't. The remote was listed for the Sorento but it is definitely the same frequency as my remote. If it doesn't work, I am only out $22 and I will re-list it on ebay and the Sorento forum here.

Appreciate your input on these forums!
Narvo is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 04-10-2008, 09:34 PM
Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 643
Drives: 2008 Kia Rondo EX V6 7P
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

I just got my replacement remote I ordered from ebay. Does anyone know if there is any way to program it without a Kia Scan Tool? If anyone know how to or find instructions how to please let me know!
Narvo is offline  
Reply

  Kia Forum > KIA Models > Kia Carens & Rondo Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Kia Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On