How do you upload phonebook? - Kia Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-05-2010, 09:12 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 13
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default How do you upload phonebook?

I have searched the forum and can't find my answer. My phone is an older Palm Treo Smartphone. I can use the bluetooth but
-phone doesn't "ring" anymore out of the car, but makes the noise saying I missed a call or have a voicemail
-I can't say "call by name" and when somebody in my phonebook calls, it just shows up as an active call on the radio
I have seen posts that only some contacts sync, but none of mine will. I would really like to use the voice command thing too! Can anybody help? I really don't want to buy a new phone to use all these cool features!
shelby1014 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-06-2010, 08:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Quebec
Posts: 279
Drives: Sorento Lx 2011 2 wd V-6
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shelby1014 View Post
I have searched the forum and can't find my answer. My phone is an older Palm Treo Smartphone. I can use the bluetooth but
-phone doesn't "ring" anymore out of the car, but makes the noise saying I missed a call or have a voicemail
-I can't say "call by name" and when somebody in my phonebook calls, it just shows up as an active call on the radio
I have seen posts that only some contacts sync, but none of mine will. I would really like to use the voice command thing too! Can anybody help? I really don't want to buy a new phone to use all these cool features!
I have an 4 years old Treo . Just went to try in for you :

it connects bluetooth , downloads the phonebook , makes the call even
it did'nt pass thru because my line is not active on the Treo.

On my active phone , a Centro , I was able to recieve calls but not to
call out. I sent it for repair because the phone was producing echo
on the caller's phone . Palm returned me a brand new
and the callout problem disappeared by magic !

If you can pair another model , then the fault is your Treo ...
there is a list of phone compatibility on Kia site , the Centro is not
even on the list ...and it works !

Keep us updated .
mITKI is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-07-2010, 09:25 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 13
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

Thanks for the info! I figured out that I can input the phonebook by going through and putting each one in by voice. I only got 4 in before I got sick of doing it! I guess over time I will get the important ones in! And the phone is now magically ringing again...for now! Thanks again for the post!
shelby1014 is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-07-2010, 09:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Quebec
Posts: 279
Drives: Sorento Lx 2011 2 wd V-6
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shelby1014 View Post
Thanks for the info! I figured out that I can input the phonebook by going through and putting each one in by voice. I only got 4 in before I got sick of doing it! I guess over time I will get the important ones in! And the phone is now magically ringing again...for now! Thanks again for the post!
The way the centro works : after it connects bluetooth the whole
phonebook is downloaded.

Am not familiar how you input them manually , can you explain .

Do you have to do it each time you start the car ?
because my sori's phonebook is erased at the stop of the car .
mITKI is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-08-2010, 01:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 417
Drives: 2011 Kia Sorento EX AWD V6 Limited/Panoramic
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)

Default

It sound like shelby has the non-nav bluetooth system and you have NAV. NAV you can't do anything manually.
mogulman is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-08-2010, 12:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Quebec
Posts: 279
Drives: Sorento Lx 2011 2 wd V-6
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mogulman View Post
It sound like shelby has the non-nav bluetooth system and you have NAV. NAV you can't do anything manually.
I have a regular / non-nav system ...since I had already a gps ,
I did not want to spend this extra money ...am so cheap !!
mITKI is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Kia Forum > KIA Models > Kia Sorento Forum > 2011 - 2013 (XM) Sorento Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Kia Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On