P0016 code...possible causes - Kia Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-03-2010, 09:30 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 31
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default P0016 code...possible causes

Sorry to start a new thread regarding this, but i just found out what code is triggering the check engine light: P0016 cam crank correlation. What are the possible causes for this? My timing belt, crank gear, harmonic balancer were just replaced. The check engine light was not on prior to this, which leads me to believe that both sensors are good. My buddy who did the work for me said he checked the timing alignment by rotating a full rotation by hand (twice) and that it looked good. He used the specs from Kiatechinfo. Could the timing have gotten off after starting the engine? The vehicle appears to be running fine, although I did notice that it is shifting between gears when 'coasting'. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!! I really hope that we do not have to remove the crank bolt again (hoping we can access the cam through the top cover).
markleyfunk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-03-2010, 11:30 PM
Senior Member
 
maksik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: USA, NY
Posts: 229
Drives: 03'VW Passat - mine | 03'Sorento EX 4X4 - hers
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)

Default

1. Were the sensors removed and re-installed, but swapped?
2. Do all timing marks aligned - 4 cams and crank?
3. Check wiring on sensors.
maksik is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-04-2010, 07:39 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 31
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maksik View Post
1. Were the sensors removed and re-installed, but swapped?
2. Do all timing marks aligned - 4 cams and crank?
3. Check wiring on sensors.
NO, the sensors were not removed. The timing marks appeared to be lined up correctly when reinstalled (will double check this today). One thing that crossed my mind...when we removed the crank gear, the sensing plate was completely detached from the gear. After removing this old gear and plate, there was another ring (spacer?) that we may have removed thinking it was part of the gear assembly. Although, I think that the new crank gear may have come with the spacer attached on the back side of the sensing plate..can anyone confirm this?

Thanks
markleyfunk is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-04-2010, 11:45 AM
Senior Member
 
maksik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: USA, NY
Posts: 229
Drives: 03'VW Passat - mine | 03'Sorento EX 4X4 - hers
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)

Default

at this point I would say that is the area that need second look. It is possible that blade was bent or put back reversed - just trying to give you ideas.
Why the crank gear was removed?
maksik is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-04-2010, 11:57 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: CNY-USA
Posts: 1,016
Drives: 2004 Optima 2.4 EX, 2005 Yamaha R1 (street) 2001 GSXR 1000 (track)
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

The sensing blade is part of the crank sprocket. If the blade and sprocket seperated, this could definitely be the cause....
mattybyzf is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-05-2010, 11:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 408
Drives: 2006 Sportage
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

Dont worry about the crank gear, if it was bent you would hear it hitting the crank sensor as it turns around and around. This is more than likely not the case as if it hit the sensor it would probably break it and throw a crank code. It really sounds like the timing is out. The computer checks cam and crank alignment. If it is out a tooth it may seem to be running ok but is not perfect to the computer. Check timing. Oh, one other thing. The holes in the timing cover where the main engine bracket goes on, behind one of the bolt holes is where the wire runs for the crank sensor, I have seen before where guys dont put the wire in the right spot and it gets pinched between the block and the bracket when you tighten the bolts. Also make sure the cam wires are positioned right inside the holder in the timing cover. Keep me posted.
ESKORT27 is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-06-2010, 05:11 AM
Veteran
 
gee6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rural Bedfordshire, UK.
Posts: 1,266
Drives: 08 2.5 CRDI Sorento Titan Auto
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattybyzf View Post
The sensing blade is part of the crank sprocket.
Really? So why is it shown as a separate item on the Kiatechinfo diagrams?


Markleyfunk: From what I can see the assembly is
Crank Pulley ---- Sprocket --- Blade ---- Spacer ---- ( Towards Block)

Sensing Blade appears to have a circular ridge which goes towards sprocket and presumably locates it.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf data_Passenger_KM_KMA_ENG_SHOP-Image.pdf (51.0 KB, 470 views)
gee6 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-06-2010, 04:27 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 31
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

Wheew!! So it turns out that it was that the timing was off by one tooth, hence why it was still running fine. Also, my buddy was able to fix it without removing the crank bolt!!

Also, gee6, the sensing blade is part of the crank gear. I think the diagram is just illustrated like that to show the parts, but when you buy a new one, all of that is 'molded' together.

Thanks for all the advice!
markleyfunk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Kia Forum > KIA Models > Kia Sorento Forum > 2003-2010 Sorento Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Kia Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On