2003 Kia Sorento Speedo Cluster Swap - Kia Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-23-2009, 02:32 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 18
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default 2003 Kia Sorento Speedo Cluster Swap

Hello,
I have a defective gauge cluster in my 2003 Sorento. I have located a used cluster for a good price and was wondering if I swap it over if I will have any problems? Also will I need to get the new one recalibrated or will it update to my current mileage on its own?
Thanks,
DBC
mr_dbc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-23-2009, 04:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 15
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

I am not real sure, I think the safe bet would be to call a Kia Service store. I worked at a dealership here is Louisville and we have a great service manager named doug, you can reach him at (502) 962-3286. He would definitely be able to answer your question.

Affliated with
Kia Store Anniston Oxford
Tvutters9 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-24-2009, 01:45 AM
Veteran
 
KIAZILLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Shelton, WA
Posts: 1,499
Drives: 06 KIA Spec5, 96 HD Roadking
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Garage

Default

The mileage is stored on the cluster so it will read mileage of the car it came out of. You can find a speedometer shop (or ask a KIA dealer who they use) and they can recalibrate your new cluster. You will probably have to fill out some forms for the state you are in. That is what I had to do.
KIAZILLA is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-24-2009, 03:25 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 18
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

ok thanks, I'll look into that before swapping anything. Thanks very much for your help!
mr_dbc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Kia Forum > KIA Models > Kia Sorento Forum > 2003-2010 Sorento Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Kia Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On