Kia Sorento Key Copy - Kia Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 05-03-2006, 07:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

Hi guys, I'm a pretty new driver and I just recently got my key copied and its good for everything except for turning on the engine. I went back to the store where I got it copied and they told me that there's a chip inside the key and apparently thats why I can't turn on the ignition. Is that true? Or do I have to just break in the key?
chinalton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 05-03-2006, 08:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Benjammin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 395
Drives: 2011 Kia Soul Base, 2014 Kia Sportage LX + Pop Package
Gallery: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

Yup, I do believe the key has a chip that's tied into starting the engine (most new cars work this way). That's why you have to keep the key number the dealer is supposed to give you so you can contact Kia for a new or a replacement key.
Benjammin is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 05-04-2006, 12:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Alexandra, New Zealand
Posts: 355
Drives: 2008 VW Tiguan (sold my Sorento)
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

Yep it's true. There's what they call a transponder in the key, it is interogated by the computer to make sure it's correct before it'll start. It's a scurity thing and a darn good one at that, so nobody can start your Sorento with a key they've just had cut.

Sorento can "learn" new keys but they still have to have the chip in them.

If you hold your old key next to the recut one it will probably work, don't think it actually needs actual contact. So, you could probably stick the old key near the ignition switch and use any keys you like, sort of a bypass, but don't complain if somebody hot wires it and steals it OK !!!

Cheers

Derek

Derek
Alexandra
New Zealand
2005 2.5 CRDi Auto Sorento sold
2008 2.0 TDi VW Tiguan :o
Derek is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 05-08-2006, 02:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 27
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

Kia can reprogramme the old key. My spare keys given to me were not for my car. Took them back, got them re programmed and now they work fine!

Rossco
Rossvickicampbell is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 05-29-2006, 12:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Default

if you read the manual, there is a section about starting the sorento when the key is not recognized. There is a default code of 12345 (I could have the incorrect number of digits) and the dealership is supposed to change it. Most of the lazy buggers don't. They figure most people won't know about it, so why do the work.

Anyway, it's in the manual. I don't have mine in front of me, so I cannot describe the procedure accurately enough..
legioss is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 05-29-2006, 01:33 PM
Veteran
 
gee6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rural Bedfordshire, UK.
Posts: 1,251
Drives: 08 2.5 CRDI Sorento Titan Auto
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)

Default

That's interesting - there is a reference to it in the UK manual, but not the actual procedure. Anyway - in theory it only puts the car in "limp-home" mode.

Regards
gee6 is offline  
Reply

  Kia Forum > KIA Models > Kia Sorento Forum > 2003-2010 Sorento Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On