loss power up in hill (DIESEL,CRDI) - Kia Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 01-22-2014, 10:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 14
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default loss power up in hill (DIESEL,CRDI)

well guys sometimes running up the hill my sorie seems to loose power...
its an automatic gearbox for example when i'm going in 5 secuencil it doesn't support the gear then i have to down to 4 ...its normal??
the car is faster in flat terrain ...
when i down to 4 it not happen i assume this happend because the turbo it's shutdown when am in 5 because de revs goin down to 1500 1600...
but if a push the pedal to the max this dont ocurr...
any idea??
sorry for my english dude :/
maxucao is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 01-22-2014, 10:44 PM
Veteran
 
Loyale 2.7 Turbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: French Harbour, Roatán; Honduras.
Posts: 1,273
Drives: 1985 Subaru "BumbleBeast", 2000 Kia "KiaStein" and 1969 Mercury Comet
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)

Default

Somehow I Believe it is Normal Behaviour for the Diesel at Highest Gear, the Highest Gear is intended to Flat cruising, not Hill Climbing, and thus means fuel saving.

Kind Regards.
Loyale 2.7 Turbo is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 01-23-2014, 01:20 AM
Veteran
 
gee6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rural Bedfordshire, UK.
Posts: 1,251
Drives: 08 2.5 CRDI Sorento Titan Auto
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)

Default

Yes, but you would also expect the auto box to downshift without manual assistance.

maxucao: Just on the chance, try removing the 'P/TRN' fuse in the engine bay fuse box for a few minutes (with engine off). This will reset the transmission and it's 'auto-learn' function. [Engine may rev high on next start - that's OK.]
Presume acceleration and 'kickdown' are ok on flat?? If not, suspect blocked strainer in the fuel tank pick-up.
When did you last change fuel filter?

(Can't help but wonder if this is connected with your previous issue?? Did you resolve that?)
Maybe something loose/disconnected underneath. There are a lot electrical harness connectors. Do you have 4 wheel drive? Manual or Auto? Any extra info helps. Can you get ECU checked for diagnostic error codes?

Last edited by gee6; 01-23-2014 at 01:38 AM.
gee6 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 01-23-2014, 06:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 14
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

Wow thanks friends for thw help...yes i suposed what happen is common into this engine and transmision type...

my car is a 2008 vgt automatic gearbox...

in flat...wow no one stop me jejejej...i dont carry for this because i assume this happwn in very cars down a gear for climb hill

and not..i dont check my other question the next week I have time to lift the car and check it out

I will try too extract the fuse that you mentioned and i wil comment you..
thanks a lot
maxucao is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 01-23-2014, 07:04 AM
PLP
Super Moderator
 
PLP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Haslett, MI, USA, Earth
Posts: 5,927
Drives: 2007 Kia Rondo EX V6 2.7 5P A/T; 2009 Hyundai Elantra GLS, 2.0, I4, 5 SPD M/T sedan
Gallery: 3
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Garage

Default

if you get power in 4th gear (higher rpm) I doubt the fuel pump is the issue.
If you can manually hold 5th, floor the gas and it will go uphill fine - everything is fine.

If you try at higher speed, say at 1500 rpm in 5th you are going around 60km/h, so if you speed up to 80 km/h it should climb no problem.

As you noted, at so low rpm speed the computer knows what power is produced by the engine (turbo might not spin fast enough yet - normally, just like you said, turbo kicks in at 1300-1800 RPM in passenger cars - depends on design and size of the engine). Therefore, it lets downshift to happen in order to bring rpm higher.


If you reset what the transmission learnt, you might need to teach it again. During the process you not supposed to use the manual shifter. Let the tranny learn how you like it to be driven. It may take about 500km to get the main "lesson", but then it takes another 2500km to finish the course.
Anyway, it is constant learning process. Even if someone drove it one way, it will adapt to you in the next months. Resetting it will speed up the process.

If I recall - once reset you should start the engine and shift through all gears. I mean all (but no manual gate). Do it 3 times. The very first one will be very abrupt, but the next ones will be smoother...

www.kiatechinfo.com USA - free service, manuals www.kia.ca/kia-owners-manuals Canada www.kia-hotline.com Europe (paid service!) www.kia.ca/pages/owner/OwnersManual.aspx?lang=en manuals - must pick model, Canadian version - for free
PRINT IT and put on your car Do you talk/text and drive? Watch it: http://www.oprah.com/oprahshow/Watch...bsession-Video
PLP is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 01-23-2014, 10:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 14
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

Yep if i pull full pedal to the metal the car goes up..but i think its not the idea i think
but i will check the car next week because i have vacations ejjeje
maxucao is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 01-23-2014, 10:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 14
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gee6 View Post
Yes, but you would also expect the auto box to downshift without manual assistance.

maxucao: Just on the chance, try removing the 'P/TRN' fuse in the engine bay fuse box for a few minutes (with engine off). This will reset the transmission and it's 'auto-learn' function. [Engine may rev high on next start - that's OK.]
Presume acceleration and 'kickdown' are ok on flat?? If not, suspect blocked strainer in the fuel tank pick-up.
When did you last change fuel filter?

(Can't help but wonder if this is connected with your previous issue?? Did you resolve that?)
Maybe something loose/disconnected underneath. There are a lot electrical harness connectors. Do you have 4 wheel drive? Manual or Auto? Any extra info helps. Can you get ECU checked for diagnostic error codes?
its 4x4 and the fuel filter was changed 2 weeks ago the flat acceleration is ok
i never let the car when is manual to do the downshift...because I think is bad to the engine...
I confused you jajajaja any question im pleased to answer and thanks again
maxucao is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 01-23-2014, 11:00 AM
Veteran
 
gee6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rural Bedfordshire, UK.
Posts: 1,251
Drives: 08 2.5 CRDI Sorento Titan Auto
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxucao View Post
i never let the car when is manual to do the downshift...because I think is bad to the engine...
Peak torque on the VGT is about 1800rpm iirc. Better, imo, to let the engine run freely at 1800+ than labour at 1500

I have same year/engine/trans. Rarely use the sport-shift.
gee6 is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 01-23-2014, 11:24 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 14
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gee6 View Post
Peak torque on the VGT is about 1800rpm iirc. Better, imo, to let the engine run freely at 1800+ than labour at 1500

I have same year/engine/trans. Rarely use the sport-shift.
Okay thats is the thing that I always do..try to keep the rev up to 1800 also the sound of the engine is less like forced...
i like to pass the gears u.u

so its normal isnt it???

Thanks a lot for your help
maxucao is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 01-23-2014, 11:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 14
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Thread Starter (Thread Starter)
Default

Tell me...you got the egr deactivated??? I do this but not feel any real diference
maxucao is offline  
Reply

  Kia Forum > KIA Models > Kia Sorento Forum > 2003-2010 Sorento Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On